Squeaky xantia

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

laks
My Cars:

Squeaky xantia

Post by laks »

Hi All,

Newbie here and in need of some advice please!

Just got a lovely 98 xantia td auto and is a great car.....now im not that mechanically minded (so maybe citroen not best choice eh?) but here's my problem of the moment!

The car squeks!! at first I thought it was just in driving but this is not the case, I got in the car the last night and as I sat down it squeked - if i rock it up/down it squeks! hope its something simple!!

any ideas greatly appreciated

TIA
DickieG
Monaco's youngest playboy
My Cars:

Post by DickieG »

Is the squeak predominately from the rear? If so then rear suspension arm bearing would be my prime suspect, how many miles has the car done? To check the arms take a look at the car from the rear from a distance of 10-20 yards, if all is well the rear wheels should look vertical, if they look as if they're leaning inwards towards the top like / \ then the arm bearings need replacing. The job might look daunting but isn't quite as bad as you think.
13 Ram 1500 Hemi
14 BMW 535D Tourer
19 BMW i3s
06 C3 Desire 1.4
72 DS 21 EFi Pallas BVH
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

Hi Laks

Welcome to FCF!

Sounds to me like the rear trailing arm bearings are knackered - not too bad to DIY if you are competent, otherwise expect to pay £150-£200 / side at an independent. Put the car on high and look from the rear - do either of the rear wheel appear to be leaning in at the top?
Richard W
laks
My Cars:

Post by laks »

Hey guys,

Thanks for that info, its too dark now but I'll check that in the daylight and let you know my findings!
However I think its more from the front or forward of centre, but agin I'll double check

Cheers
laks
My Cars:

Post by laks »

ps car done 114k
DickieG
Monaco's youngest playboy
My Cars: