pugbus now going 'M'HDI

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

pugbus
My Cars:

pugbus now going 'M'HDI

Post by pugbus »

:) Hi I've been running and converting VW campers to pug power for over twenty years , and have now decided to rebuild a HDi engine to my specification ,
Will be looking to upgrade to larger turbo , one from a Boxer/Relay HDi , by the look of these they appear slightly larger - does anyone know the difference + what RPM the turbo kicks in at between different turbo's ? Other option is to go VNT

machined some injectors to work with a unique pump and support bracket that I build ,
back in a short while in the mean time here's a pic

pugbus
My Cars:

Post by pugbus »

:D All looking good after fitting machined two stage injectors ,tomorrow I'll prime the fuel- fit adaptor plate with starter - then put some water through with a hose pipe , I'll then be able to start it on the floor :)
should be running at about 120BHP
dieselnutjob

Post by dieselnutjob »

is that an IDI pump on a 2.8 HDI engine?

I wonder if that would be a good engine swap option for my 604 V6 petrol when the engine finally expires.

It might be better than the XD2/XD3 boat anchor than was fitted by Peugeot.

Does the starter motor go on the front?
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

Hold on, an HDi is a DI engine and the VP20 pump you have there is expressly designed to work with IDI pintle injectors at a relatively low pressure compared to that used with DI multi-hole injectors.

This is rater interesting :D Are you using pintle-type injectors in a DI engine or have you done something else?

I'm on the edge of my seat here! Please do tell!
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
dieselnutjob