Xantia suspension hard & not able to choose "middle

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

dodgy123
My Cars:

Xantia suspension hard & not able to choose "middle

Post by dodgy123 »

Hi,
I've got a problem with the hydraulics/suspension(?) of my xantia sx hdi (w reg)
I can get it to raise to the highest and drop to the lowrider but when i choose either normal setting it only ticks reasonably rapidly.
Has anyone encountered this?
I've read a lot about accumulators and spheres but i'm no mechanic. Is it just a case of changing the rear one, seems strange that it can do both extremes!?
The ride is also extremely hard on both settings

Thanks
Matt
Citroen Xantia SX hdi "2000"
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »

hi Matt and welcome

firstly if you can not get the car to sitt at either of the middle setting in between full up and full down, this sounds like one of the nylon hight corector links have poped off,

the cause of this is the H/C linkage mechanisum seizeing up, these are the two turrets on the H/C carrier/caridge and they are ment to be very free moveing,

the only long term fix is remove the H/C carridge lube and work the turrets till they are floppy loose, then re/fit and fit a new nylon link as the old one almost certainly will not stay in place for very,

the ticking is usualy the regulator sphere is low or out of gas (needs replaceing ) which is on the front of the gear box, this or either centre sphere will not improove the softness of the ride,

if the ride is still hard after the H/C is functioning correctly you will need to start replaceing the cornner sphere's, which the main culprit for hard ride (so long as the H/C's are working properly,

you could always as Jim (citrojim) if he has the time to check it out for you if he dosent mind as he is in your area,

regards malcolm

regards malcolm
CitroJim
A very naughty boy