Xantia brake cylinder (doseur valve)

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

avidfan

Xantia brake cylinder (doseur valve)

Post by avidfan »

Hello,
I'm new on here and I'm also new to Citroens so please excuse any faux pas I might make!

My friend has a Xantia, it's a '96 'n' reg 1.9 diesel, it has a leak from the brake cylinder type thing from the front where the pipe(s) go into it. Is there a repair kit for them or does the unit need replacing? If it can be repaired is it easy (I'm ok with a hammer lol) and do just the brakes need bleeding or the suspension too?

Thank you for your patience!
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »

hi and welcome

if you mean a front brake calipper it is easyer to fit a re/con or second hand unit,

and it is just the calipper you disconect which will need bleeding, with suspension presure up just open the bleed kniple and hold the brake pedel down till you get a solid flow of fluid, then shut the kniple off job done

non of the usual pumpping up down up down as with standerd brakes

regards malcolm
avidfan

Post by avidfan »

citronut wrote:hi and welcome

if you mean a front brake calipper it is easyer to fit a re/con or second hand unit,

and it is just the calipper you disconect which will need bleeding, with suspension presure up just open the bleed kniple and hold the brake pedel down till you get a solid flow of fluid, then shut the kniple off job done

non of the usual pumpping up down up down as with standerd brakes

regards malcolm
Sorry, I should have explained further...it's under the bonnet where you'd normally find a master cylinder on a normal car lol. Iirc, there are 2 rubber pipes going into it and the lhm fluid is leaking from the top one I think.
VertVega
My Cars:

Post by VertVega »

You should clean it and spot the leak source which might be a) rubber hose b) brake protector cap c) other
They can be repaired.