the egs gearbox

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

paddywac
My Cars:

the egs gearbox

Post by paddywac »

hi i am a newbie to the forum and i would like a piece of advice,i am thinking of changing to a c4 picasso,i have heard a lot of different viewpoints re the egs gearbox in this model so i am asking for opinions on this forum......is the egs good,bad,or indifferent thanks in advance. :wink:
dannyboy
wheeler
My Cars:

Post by wheeler »

The best thing you can do is drive it for yourslef, it's not like a normal autobox, its a normal manual gearbox where the gears & clutch are operated by electric & hydraulic auctuators, if your used to a normal auto it will be a bit of a change the gearchanges are not as smooth. It is much better than the sensodrive box fitted to the C3/C2 though.
paddywac
My Cars:

Post by paddywac »

thanks wheeler,good advice i have heard more pros and cons about this box i think i will organise a test drive. :wink:
dannyboy
jcgrant1980
New User
My Cars: Outlander 2.2
C4 Cactus

Re: the egs gearbox

Post by jcgrant1980 »

This is a old post and apologies to bring up the thread. Looking at a 3008 today with the egc box.

Reason for post I had a C4 grand picasso and the actuator broke but luckily under warranty but I'm getting a little concerned having another gear box like this but i like the car. I'm changing out my Cactus because the seats give me terrible back ache so need something comfier as I do 60 mile's a day.

The 3008 is a 2012 model on only 21000 miles and very clean coming from a Peogeot dealer.

What should I look out for? Are these gear box's reliable?
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
My Cars: C3 Aircross SUV HDi Flair Peperoncino Red (The Chili Hornet)
C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
C5 MK II 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
C5 MK I 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red