Xantia Blower

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Spireman

Xantia Blower

Post by Spireman »

Hi

I'm new to all this, and the info I want is probably common knowledge, but where can I get new brushes for my heater blower please?

1999 Xantia Mk2 2.0 HDI with aircon.

Thanks John
2.0 HDI Xantia estate 225k
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »

hi John and welcome

yes your right its is common knoledge

but its not usualy the motor brush's,

its usualy the speeed control unit transistor/shave failed,

to check the motor its self unscrew and drop it down from up behind the glove box,

pull the plug out which goes into the side of the motor through a large square gromet, now conect a wire to each of the two terminals were the plug came from, and conect it across a car battery (but mind the impeler finns dont catch on anything),

if it works its almost certain the fault is you speed control unit, which is the alloy unit with cooling finns screwed to the fan base

Jim put a link on here for Farnels and if you click on it goes straight to the transistors you require

regards malcolm
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

The transistors are only at fault if the motor is running uncontrollably at top speed as soon as the ignition is switched on.

Normally, the blower does not start until the engine has been running for a few moments and on days like these it won't fire up to high speed in auto mode until the engine coolant temperature reaches 60 degrees. This is to prevent you being blasted by cold air....

If the motor is not running at all, the fault will be elsewhere...
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently: