Synergie Gear Problem!!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Newby

Synergie Gear Problem!!

Post by Newby »

Hi all, I am new to this , so bear with me. My wife pulled up at trraffic lights, put car in neutral as lights take ages to change. When lights started to change she went to put in gear, but couldn`t , the gear lever just went all over the place and she could not select any gear. When AA man came he just said the Gearbox was broken, I find this hard to believe. Any help would be appreciated!![/b]
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

It could be an internal gearbox problem but I think its more likely the linkage to the gearbox or the bush at the bottom of the gear lever.
Gammy leg
My Cars:

Post by Gammy leg »

Newby

There are 2 cable support brackets toward the back of the engine/gearbox visible when looking under the bonnet. One of these has probably snapped or one of the cable locking slides has come adrift from the bracket. Take a look and you may see one flailing about. Mine went about a week after I bought the car and I returned it to the supplying garage for repair. They were supposed to replace it but ended up welding the old one back together. I guess they had trouble sourcing a replacement.

Gammy
Newby

Post by Newby »

Thankyou for your replies Peter.N. and Gammy. I will try and have a look some time today.

Newby.
citroenxm
My Cars: M reg Xm S2 2.1td Auto Exclusive. 269k and rising
L reg XM S1 V6 12v Manual SEi
L 94 XM 2.1 TD auto total resto

2008 Peugeot 207 Sw 1.6 16v hdi. 217k and rising
2010 Peugeot 207 SW 1.6 8v HDi 161k and rising

Post by citroenxm »