Well hello

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

davewithington
My Cars:

Well hello

Post by davewithington »

New to the forum.

I've never been without a Citroen for the last 20 odd yeras, first off a GS1220 estate named Claude (who looked like he had been, and looked like a weird ladybird with chocolate brown primer over Geranium Red), then a red 1220 GS saloon, followed by 2 GSA, then my 2CV pickup 9home made, don't get excited), then Reg my 2CV saloon, my wife's 2CVand now - a Xantia.

I've been running a 11A 88" Land Rover for the past 4 years, this expired on Sunday night in a cloud of evil blue smoke (we'd just been to a steam gala so must have felt inspired), so I went lookin for a car on eBay, and came up with the Xantia.

1.9 turbo diesel SVX, in white, with only 105,000 miles on, 4 new tyres, new clutch and 12 months MOT at what I consider a very reasonable price.

Problems? Driver's door logk just rotates, needs a new transmitter key fob, and 3rd gear synchro is weak. Apart from that seems OK

However, I do need a handbook. Anyone got one lying around I can purchase?

Glad to be riding on hydraulics again
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Lexia Available: Yes
My Cars: -
1997 Citroen Xantia V6 (France)
1999 Citroen XM V6 ES9 (France)
2011 Peugeot 308 CC THP 155 (NZ)
1975 Jaguar XJ-S pre-HE (NZ)

Post by xantia_v6 »

Sounds like a good purchase.

The drivers lock likely just needs a little lubrication of the pins (they rotate like that if a wrong key is fitted)

Assuming it is a VSX it should have hydroactive suspension, and if you are lucky it is working perfectly.

BTW, to get a correct handbook, you had better give the year.
lexi
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Post by lexi »

Excellent Dave welcome to the forum. Key might be worn as well if it`s spinning. What a contrast to come from a leafer to Xantia :lol: