win2K problem

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

win2K problem

Post by jgra1 »

sorry all, a bit off topic !

I had what I thought to be a corrupted USER profile on Win2K..

I made a copy of the directories under it, and then somehow deleted the user whilst logged in as it !

now I cant log back on as that user, and I cant log on as an administrator :( so i am locked out completely (on old laptop at mo)

is this a huge pain, just install XP situation,

or can someone PM me a trick?

my TV, music, net etc all are based on the old PC..
J

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

What message comes up when you try to logon as the local administrator? Is it disabled or unknown password?
If its disabled, try logging on as local admin while in safe mode.
Are you able to access a command prompt through safe mode or win2k you could try the old net user [newaccountname] /add trick....ah that won't work as you need an account to start off with :oops: ....unless...you could remotely execute that command from another PC on a network using a little program called PSEXEC under the Win2k's system account.

Other options could be performing a repair from the Win2K CD.

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

hi Kev :D

I have tried every version of admin, administrator etc.. all i get is, the system could not log you on, make sure username and password are correct etc


this laptop is on wifi, so remote access a possibility.. never done owt like that before though.. :shock:

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

have searched laptop for pcexec, its not finding it :(

ok, tried psexec as you said :) found it online..
will see what happens...

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

As long as both machines are within the same workgroup or domain this should do the trick.
Download PSExec Tools and extract psexec.exe from the zip file.
Copy psexec.exe to to the C:\Windows folder.
Open up a command prompt and type the following:

psexec \\[nameofwin2kcomputerhere] -s net user [nameofnewaccounthere] /add

Once run, the command should exit with error code 0.

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

ok Kev

downloaded, extracted, move the .exe to the WINNT directory on laptop...

C:\Documents and Settings\john>psexec \\[n056pegasus] -s net user [johnnew] /add


PsExec v1.96 - Execute processes remotely
Copyright (C) 2001-2009 Mark Russinovich
Sysinternals - www.sysinternals.com

Couldn't access [n056pegasus]:
The network path was not found.

Make sure that the default admin$ share is enabled on [n056pegasus].

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

earlier, I also deleted

ASPNET user.. :shock: thinking it wasnt important

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

on this laptop i am logged in as user john. an administrator, i think,,

no idea how to change the sharing thing though..

looking..

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

Ah!

take away those [ ]

Don't worry about the ASPNet account.

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

C:\Documents and Settings\john>psexec \\n056pegasus -s net user johnnew /add

PsExec v1.96 - Execute processes remotely
Copyright (C) 2001-2009 Mark Russinovich
Sysinternals - www.sysinternals.com


The command completed successfully.

net exited on n056pegasus with error code 0.

C:\Documents and Settings\john>




:) what does all this mayhem mean Kev

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

Now John, try logging onto the 'broken' PC with the username johnnew with no password, you will then have access to your PC :D

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

:twisted: :shock: :D

gonna go and do it!

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

jgra1 wrote::twisted: :shock: :D

gonna go and do it!
I hope this works :oops: :oops: :lol:

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

:(

no still not allowed in.

tried a reboot but didnt help..

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41632
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1079

Post by CitroJim »

Interesting thread...

Kev,

I've just PM'd you...