Xantia brake renewal advice please

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

timbo101
My Cars:

Xantia brake renewal advice please

Post by timbo101 »

Hello all,

Sorry to ask for yet more advice but here goes.
We are off to france in two weeks and my brakes could do with renewing before we go.
I have to replace the following :
Front discs and pads and rear pads.

I have bought all the parts already and just need to fit them. I got a quoate for the labour from a local garage and to be honest it seems a lot of money for what seems to me to be not to big a job.
I have done pad replacement before on a vauxhall and it was pretty easy but have never done the discs as well.
Can someone please give me any helpful advice or tips etc so i dont encounter any major problems.
I have never done any work on the xantia myself before so is there any specific notes I need to know about jacking up the car and do i have to do anything with the suspension etc.
Also I dont have a trolley jack at the moment and was wondering if I could just set the suspension to max and then place axle stands underneath and lower it to min or is this bad practice.
Any information would be greatly received and I am hoping its not too difficult as would love to have a go myself if possible but want to be safe.

Many thanks in advance........Tim :D
1997 Xantia 2.1 TD SX Estate
citroenxm
My Cars: M reg Xm S2 2.1td Auto Exclusive. 269k and rising
L reg XM S1 V6 12v Manual SEi
L 94 XM 2.1 TD auto total resto

2008 Peugeot 207 Sw 1.6 16v hdi. 217k and rising
2010 Peugeot 207 SW 1.6 8v HDi 161k and rising

Post by citroenxm »

Pretty much straight forward... Theres no need to worry about suspension settings, just jack the car from normal height remove the wheel...

A 2.1TD Estate should have the LARGER Bosch setup, Ive NOT done one of these setups yet, just the smaller Bendix units on the hatches..