Sinking xantia

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Bobcat

Sinking xantia

Post by Bobcat »

Hi All although i am a Nissan master tech , i have recently taken ownership of 2x xantias one was my father in laws 1996 1.9td with 250116 on the clock runs like a dream, the other was a trade in at work & is a 1998 1.8 16v with 134000 on the clock this one has a problem i think when left standing over night it sinks to the lower suspension setting but when started rises reasonably quickly and remains there the ride is smooth and the brakes work fine.
Any help appreciated Tim :?
if it aint broke fix it anyway
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Hi Bob -

Welcome on board and grats with 2 comfy cars ... :wink:

I'm pretty sure the rearsink on the 1.8 is caused by a nearly flat rear anti sink sphere.
Its located somewhere under rear of the car, recognised by its single small 3.5mm outer dia pipe connecting to the center of the sphere base.

That is - if this Xantia is equipped with Anti-sink (mostly they are).

You will need either a pit or ramps working under the car, as it must be depressurised in low setting on the height selector knob, while engine is running.
Once its low you can stop engine.

You will need to remove the pipe from the sphere as the first task, before trying to remove the sphere. Otherwise you will most certainly shear the pipe.
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
Xaccers
My Cars:

Post by Xaccers »

Hi Bob, with the engine running, can you hear any ticking from the front of the car?
If it ticks more than once every 30 seconds then you have a flat accumulator sphere.
Like the rear sphere we call the anti-sink sphere, it stores pressure in the system. The accumulator holds enough pressure when new for about 50 uses of the brakes.
When it's pressure gets low, the regulator works harder, hence the more rapid ticking.