Login problems Firefox / Vista

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9424
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 418

Login problems Firefox / Vista

Post by RichardW »

Not really French Car related, although it is an electrical problem :lol:

Following demise of the hard drive on our old PC have 'upgraded' to a lap top with Vista. Prefer to use Firefox, however, cannot log in here or BXClub on firefox. Get login page, enter username / password, appears to work, but then just get back to front page and not logged in. Anyone else have trouble with this OS combo? Browser set to accept cookies s the only thing I can think of. Works on other forums (yes, there are other forums out there :twisted: ).....

Just another of life's little frustrations I guess..... Off to take out some aggression on some fire wood!

Edit: Actually just tried BX Club and I can log in there on Firefox. Weird...

User avatar
reblack68
Posts: 1047
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 02:28

Post by reblack68 »

I use Firefox on a Vista laptop and I have no problem with FCF, in fact it's one of the few things that does work for me on Vista. :x

All I can suggest is go into your cookies and remove all the entries for FCF, and try logging in again.

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9424
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 418

Post by RichardW »

"All I can suggest is go into your cookies and remove all the entries for FCF, and try logging in again."

Worked! Not sure why I didn't try that.... Thanks :lol:

andmcit
Posts: 4299
Joined: 03 Mar 2005, 18:59
x 17

Post by andmcit »

yes godammit, it's happening to me all the time too:
Image

Firefox on Mac OSX 10.4.11 Tiger...

Andrew

User avatar
Xaccers
Posts: 7653
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 00:46
x 4

Post by Xaccers »

It's an issue with the site, not your browser.

Homer
Posts: 1504
Joined: 26 Feb 2003, 11:52
x 14

Post by Homer »

andmcit wrote:yes godammit, it's happening to me all the time too:
That's not the forum login so your forum user/password won't work there.

It's asking for a user/password to access the actual website, not the forum, in fact it doesn't even seem to be this site, it's coming from http://www.egroupltd.co.uk/ which appears to be an insurance site. It doesn't even seem to be hosted in the same place.

Browser hijack?

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43578
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1608

Post by CitroJim »

Homer wrote:
andmcit wrote:yes godammit, it's happening to me all the time too:
That's not the forum login so your forum user/password won't work there.

It's asking for a user/password to access the actual website, not the forum, in fact it doesn't even seem to be this site, it's coming from http://www.egroupltd.co.uk/ which appears to be an insurance site. It doesn't even seem to be hosted in the same place.

Browser hijack?
Pass. I've seen it once and once only. It's connected with the eGroup insurance company that has banners on the site but how, not a scoobs :(

I can't ask the webmaster as if I did at the moment, I'd be asking myself :roll:

I'll keep an eye on it...

Sl4yer
Posts: 847
Joined: 12 Apr 2003, 04:29
x 1

Post by Sl4yer »

citrojim wrote:I've seen it once and once only. It's connected with the eGroup insurance company that has banners on the site but how, not a scoobs :(
They must have cocked up on the security of their site, putting their banners into a secure area. (The banners actually come direct from them when loading FCF pages). Seems to be OK now though.

I get problems when logging on at work sometimes, with IE6. I'm sure it's something to do with work though, not the board. Perhaps they're trying to remind me that I should be working! 8-[

James

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43578
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1608

Post by CitroJim »

Sl4yer wrote: I get problems when logging on at work sometimes, with IE6. I'm sure it's something to do with work though, not the board. Perhaps they're trying to remind me that I should be working! 8-[

James
Corporate Proxy Servers can cause all kinds of problems with phpBB2 James, especially if they repeatedly change the IP address you appear to be coming from.

One of the many reasons the forum will be moving to phpBB3 in the not too distant.

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19287
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1339

Post by myglaren »

Although it appears not to be a Firefox problem, I find that setting Firefox to clear cache and browsing history as it closes helps to minimise problems of this nature.

Further to that I run CCleaner once in a while. Shifts the rubbish that operating systems cannot see.

Also I'd recommend Spybot Search & Destroy, in the advanced tools there is a Hosts File tool that lets you download a hosts file from Safer Networking that blocks scores of bad sites thet you may otherwise be redirected to.
The `Immunize' function is similar but not quite the same.

Both tools available from Filehippo.com (free)

red_dwarfers
Donor 2020
Posts: 2525
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 19

Post by red_dwarfers »

andmcit wrote:yes godammit, it's happening to me all the time too:
Image

Firefox on Mac OSX 10.4.11 Tiger...

Andrew
I've had a login box like that before (not with the sleek Tiger though!), can't remember what it said I was logging into though. I always presumed that there was a temporary problem with the forum. If I come back a bit later on, all is then usually fine :)

Homer
Posts: 1504
Joined: 26 Feb 2003, 11:52
x 14

Post by Homer »

citrojim wrote:
Homer wrote:
andmcit wrote:yes godammit, it's happening to me all the time too:
That's not the forum login so your forum user/password won't work there.

It's asking for a user/password to access the actual website, not the forum, in fact it doesn't even seem to be this site, it's coming from http://www.egroupltd.co.uk/ which appears to be an insurance site. It doesn't even seem to be hosted in the same place.

Browser hijack?
Pass. I've seen it once and once only. It's connected with the eGroup insurance company that has banners on the site but how, not a scoobs :(
Banners? Ah, Adblock must have got 'em. Sorry, have to keep my web use to a minimum here. :(

XantiaMan
Posts: 1603
Joined: 12 Aug 2007, 18:47
x 11

Post by XantiaMan »

I had the same log in issues earlier and a clearing of the cookies solved it. Now on firefox due to I.E security issues...

andmcit
Posts: 4299
Joined: 03 Mar 2005, 18:59
x 17

Post by andmcit »

:roll:

Image

Image

Why do I have to bugger about with my cookies - they're fine where they
are beside my cuppa tea...

Andrew

XantiaMan
Posts: 1603
Joined: 12 Aug 2007, 18:47
x 11

Post by XantiaMan »

That error is unrelated to the browser...