Looking at buying a C3 advice/experience please

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

juppy

Looking at buying a C3 advice/experience please

Post by juppy »

I am looking to buy a diesel C3, I would welcome any advice from owners of these as to realistic mpg and which is the best model to go for, the 1.4 or the 1.6.
All advice gratefully received.
bencowell

Post by bencowell »

I've no long term experience, but have driven most engines and found that the 1.6 90 was a pretty rapid and smooth car. Not tried the 1.6 110.

I understand that the 1.4 16v has some problems, there is more on here. http://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/v ... t=starting

Ben
Currently driving a 2004 C5 VTR (old shape) and an Electric Kia Soul. Sorry but the electric one is my favourite!
Formerly Hyundai Genesis 3.8 V6, 2 x Kia Optima, 2 x C5, Xsara and Saxo.
JamesQB
My Cars: Citroen Xantia 1.8 - I miss this car a lot.

Post by JamesQB »

For the sake of a clear conscience, I must reply to this.

We still have our lemon of a car - Citroen C3 1.4 HDi - unfortunately, but we have a local dealer who will allow us to trade it in for a real car, albeit with the loss of £4,000 from what we paid for it 3 years ago. It's an acceptable loss to us, for although Trading Standards is involved in our fight, and thinks we have a good case, they've warned it will drag on for a long time and may involve us taking the dealership who sold us the car to court. Even T.S. recommended we trade it in if we get the chance.

These cars are built cheaply, yet still have many mod-cons. This simply means that the quality has been reduced in order to keep the price low, and boy does the lack of quality start to show. From plastic parts inside the car breaking, to the engine problems it suffers, it's a terrible car.