Dispatch Heater Fan Problem

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Simonh04
My Cars:

Dispatch Heater Fan Problem

Post by Simonh04 »

Hello there to all. I'm new to this so thanks to Google for finding your site and to any kind souls that reply.

My Dispatch is a 2003 model with a 1.9 DW8 (non turbo) engine, ever since I bought it just over a year ago the fan has had a mind of it's own, nothing drastic but the blower speed would at times change of its own accord.
Recently it just stopped completely, it did kick in again with the slider on full and after a good slap on the dash but I made the mistake of moving the speed slider and ever since its been dead.
The slider box has been dismantled and cleaned, I've played with the wires, even tried another motor albeit second hand, nothing has made any difference.
The cold isn't a problem but there is virtually no air movement even when travelling at speed so visibility can be poor and thats not safe for anyone!

I spent last night reading numerous posts about similar problems but am unsure as to how relevant the systems on Xantia's etc are.

Is it likely that my ignition switch could be the culprit?
Does the van have the same resistor pack as the cars?
If so where might it be hiding?
Does anyone know which relays are relevant to this vehicle and the blower motor?
Does anyone have access to a wiring diagram?

My local Dealers aren't bad but this info seems to be unavailable.

The control panel is a single unit with the cabled flow dampers and the speed control all in one, there aren't any definite speed slots or markings but the top cover is a pcb, there are around 7 (sorry it's been rebuilt and this is bit of a guess) small chips/processors on the pcb which I'm assuming are relevant to the various speed settings.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver