TurboCT prebuy

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ekaftan
Donor 2023
Lexia Available: Yes
My Cars: 2006 C5 II Exclusive V6
1996 Volvo 940

TurboCT prebuy

Post by ekaftan »

I made a very lowball offer for a 97 or 98 green TurboCT yesterday. I offered around 2/3rds of their asking price and I think I'll get a call monday to go pick it up. Its my first time near one, and would like to poll your collective knowledge on what specifics to that engine I should check. I already have one Xantia and have had another two, just never a CT...

Thanks.
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

Is that an Activa or a Turbo CT Estate you're soon to get Ekaftan?

In the engine department (same one as in the Activa) there is very little to say really, they're bombproof in virtually all respects. They're a strong engine in a relatively low state of tune as they're tuned for torque rather than all-out HP and thus the turbo boost is not huge.

Check the cooling system is in top order as they do run hot. Check it has not been fiddled with and manual boost controllers fitted and so on. Check the K light goes out as soon as the engine starts. If it lingers for a few seconds, you have a fault code stored in the engine ECU.

If the cooling rad looks a bit sad, budget to replace it. They really do need the cooling system to be in top order. Do also check the fans as they do work hard in a Turbo CT.

On a test drive, check the engine is very low-down torquey. Don't worry about a bit of turbo lag but once you press the pedal well down it should fairly fly off. Remember it's running near-diesel gear ratios and is therefore laid back. The engine should pull like a train and not hesitate except perhaps for the well-known little hesitation at 2700 rpm. They all do that.