Xantia 2.1 TD, Should I scrap it???

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

timbo101
My Cars:

Xantia 2.1 TD, Should I scrap it???

Post by timbo101 »

Hi all,
I bought a Xantia 2.1 TD SX estate a couple of weeks ago for just under £800.
I new that the cam belt was due to be changed but that didnt put me off as I thought I could get it done for about £150 but how wrong was I !!!
I have got a price for the whole timing belt kit which consists of the belt, tensioners and pully etc for £80 which is fine by me but I have been told that I need to pay another £40 for the water pump and its going to take about 4 hours labour which will cost me £160 - £180.
All of a sudden I am looking at £300 for a cambelt change and to top it off I think my spheres are knacked too as its quite bouncy so another couple of hundred quid to get them done and it seems to go on and on. I am no mechanic in any shape or form so have to get these things done at a garage.
Does anyone know of a cheaper solution to sort the cambelt out please?

Many thanks...Tim :(
1997 Xantia 2.1 TD SX Estate
lolingram
RIP 2010
My Cars:

Post by lolingram »

Tim,

I am pretty sure that some of the Citroneers will come up with a few ideas. I would guess that you will find a good independant garagiste who could do the work somewhat more reasoanbly. Thing to remember is that at this total cost for a reliable comfortable vehicle, it is still pretty cheap... do the worst spheres first
All of a sudden I am looking at £300 for a cambelt change and to top it off I think my spheres are knacked too as its quite bouncy so another couple of hundred quid to get them done and it seems to go on and on. I am no mechanic in any shape or form so have to get these things done at a garage.
Does anyone know of a cheaper solution to sort the cambelt out please?

Many thanks...Tim
R.I.P. January 2010.