BE3 3rd and 4th Synchromesh worn

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

BE3 3rd and 4th Synchromesh worn

Post by CitroJim »

Third and fourth synchromesh on my 205GTi garbox are showing signs of wear :( They've always been a bit bulky but in recent months they have got steadily worse and I've had to re-learn the old art of double-declutching to make the change smooth and quiet :)

I've ruled out oil and clutch as being the fundamental cause of the problem and the linkages are all fine.

The strange thing is that the gears only crunch on upchanges. Paradoxically, downchanges are OK :?

I've never been into a gearbox in my life (about the only automotive component I have no experience of whatsoever) and I don't know if it would be best to source another 'box, given that 1.6 GTi BE3 'boxes are like rocking horse manure as they are in demand for 205 Mi16 conversions or repair what I have which is in otherwise excellent condition.

So, can anyone shed any light on what the problem is and how amenable it is to being repaired by me. I'm assuming it's worn synchro rings. Are gearbox spares available from Pug at an economic cost?
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Whats so special about a '1.6 GTI' BE3 g/b ?
The BE3 is about the most common basic type gearbox you can find on the scraps - given the vast model range from PSA with XU/XUD's - including vans !

If you cant find genuine parts at any PSA dealer, ask around at motor factors. Its GOT to be easy to source bits for such a common automative part :shock:
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
CitroJim
A very naughty boy