106 Head Gasket? HELP

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

SimonT
My Cars:

106 Head Gasket? HELP

Post by SimonT »

Hi all. I've just bought a 1.4 diesel 106 for my daughter and after doing the usual serving etc, have found that the cooling system gets so pressurised it scares the life out of me and I have to switch the engine off.
I've changed the thermostat as that was faulty and put a new fan switch on as this wasn't working either.
Been told this is probably a head gasket blown so feel like a right lemon for buying it now but determined not to give in.
There is no oil/water mix anywhere though although alot of oil down the front of the engine.
Anyone got any advice/information to do with replacing the head gasket on this as I'm going to tackle the job myself. I'm a fairly competant DIY mechanic but not a genius and any help would be so appreciated.
I've had so much good help in the past with my Citroen Xantia on here and am sure there's some good people out there ready to help.
:D
Saxo 1.5 XD 1998
(previously owned Xantia 1.9 TD sx 1995)
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Forget about the old saying of oil/water mixing up on shot H/G's.
Wont happen any more on recent engine types - or at least very rarely.

The sure diagnose is bubbles from overpressure in the coolant filler neck - when engine is started from cold (important !) with filler cap removed.

Dont get fooled by excess coolant expelled when the engine heats up first time after topping up the coolat - which would be a common service item to do ! Commonly there should be volume left for another ½-1 liter of coolant when the coolant level has settled correctly.

Oil down the front of engine would most likely be the valve rocker cover gasket (NOT the H/G !) that needs replacing. A very common service item on any engine.

That said - you MAY still have a shot H/G.
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
Brian UK
My Cars:

Post by Brian UK »