Xantia 1997 ABS, turbo and starting trouble

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

TehAgent
My Cars:

Xantia 1997 ABS, turbo and starting trouble

Post by TehAgent »

i recently passed my driving test (last Tuesday in fact) and a friend of mine sold me a 1997 (R reg), Citroen Xantia 1.9lter TD SX with aircon for £200

i have a few problems with it and as I'm not really good with the names of things (though i am good with engines and fixing faults) i thought id ask this lovely community to see if any of you can help me

iv tried a search and alto there is some nice text and technical names and places of things, I'm kind of at a loss

so iv taken some nice pictures of my problem along with a explanation of whats going on with this car

first id like to start with the basics, the day after i brought the car, i took it for a little spin, apart from the turbo seeming none existent, i have to say i was pretty surprised with how smooth the ride was, after about an hour drive, i pulled up at some traffic lights and noticed that my breaks seem to just "let go" for a brief second then re apply themselves, that's when i noticed the light on my dash board come on (its a car in a break warning light with like skid marks out the back of it), after a good search on the web i found out this is the ABS warning light.

Now, my problem was to start with, it would go out and stay out after i had turned the ignition off and then back on again, now it just stays on soon as the engine is started, is this a faulty sensor, or is it the computer thingy?

next is the fact it takes quite some time to start and once started it kind of stutters into life with a plume of white smoke from the back, from what i have read this is just a case of changing the glow plugs