Newbie Forum member - not so newbie car (BX)!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Colin Winn
My Cars:

Newbie Forum member - not so newbie car (BX)!

Post by Colin Winn »

Hi to everyone. I'm a newbie to the Forum.

I arrive in need, as one does!

This is going to seem odd, as most people just take their cars to the garage to be fixed and especially as we are in the land of BX's (France).

However, we've cleaned ourselves out doing our place up, so I'm playing Mr. Fixit with cars, too!

The problem with French Garages? Cost! Particularly franchise dealers. How many arms and legs can I afford to lose?

Well then, to the problem - our otherwise wonderful BX 16 TRS we thought, had blown its head gasket. OK - off with the head, once disentangled from miles of tubing, the need for which I came to question!

Head off - gasket intact. Old, but intact. However, the real reason for losing all water within a few kms, was all too evident. A cracked piston liner. Clang. Best advice I can get is to go to a breakers and get a second hand BX engine, one with a relatively 'guaranteed' mileage - although this is going to be massive is it not?

I'm not fond of this idea. The 'replacement' engine is likely to be as worn as our otherwise OK-from-the-looks-of-it, engine. The manual says if one needs to replace liners, then they come (do they?) as sets with the pistons. But clearly, this is an engine out job - back on with the head and use the lifting eyes?

And - I've never got to this stage of an engine job before . . . so I need guidance folks!

Firstly, how hellish is it to dismantle or undo the driveshafts to the point where they are undone enough to release the engine and do I need (more) special tools to achieve this and ...