URGENT HELP NEEDED!!! XANTIA WON'T START.

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Rothy

URGENT HELP NEEDED!!! XANTIA WON'T START.

Post by Rothy »

Hi there, this is my first time on the forum so aplogies in advance if it sound like an obvious repair. I can do basic car maintanence. To begin with the car is the xantia 1.9 diesel on a m plate. I went on holiday for a week and came back and the xantia wont start. My son said he got it to start when he needed to get into the garage.
The only lights that light up on the dash are the battery light and the parking light, none of the others oil level, glowplug etc. Tried using easy start that wouldn't do it, tried jumping it off a pajero still nothing. Even tried something I read about connect jump lead from battery to a glow plug again no joy( if I did it correctly). Help urgentl needed supposed to be going to cornwall tomorrow.

many thanks in advance

Rothy
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

Is the starter turning the engine over, if so is there any smoke appearing from the exhaust?
andmcit
My Cars:

Post by andmcit »

Still sounds like you're not getting enough power from the battery into the starter - diesels are notoriously awkward for getting started after being left a while. To get a good whack of power on the jump leads connect the -ve direct to the engine rather than the battery post terminals. The other thing to bear in mind is just exactly how heavy duty are the jump leads - some are like shoelaces and about as useful trying to jump start a car - are they heating up?

That all said, the other culprit may be air in the diesel feed piping - pump the priming bulb near the driver's strut top a good while so that you're sure it's really firm pressure.

Andrew
Rothy

Post by Rothy »