Garages in North Cornwall

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

daveincornwall

Garages in North Cornwall

Post by daveincornwall »

Hi all,
Can anyone recommend a garage in North Cornwall (Near Bodmin) that I can get my 97 Xantia serviced, and the rear spheres changed, without being ripped off?
I dont trust many garages after some very bad experiences!
Many thanks for your help in advance
Dave
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »

When you say serviced what do you mean?

If you mean oil and filters, fuel filter, air filter and even the pollen filter why not do it yourself only costs about £30 in total inc. 5litres of oil

And the rear spheres, why not give them a go yourself :o and save a bit of money
Volkswagen Golf 59' 1.6TD S :(
daveincornwall

Post by daveincornwall »

I would try it myself, but I am new to all of this! To tell the truth, im not even sure what is fully involved in a service (Im only young!)

Im assuming I couldnt change the rear spheres without the use of a ramp, due to the safety implimentations? It sounds an easy job though - remove the old ones using some sort of wrench or something, then screw the new ones on, using some LHM to lubricate it - does that sound right?

Im assuming its the rear spheres anyway, as the car is very solid at the moment, and you can feel every bump in the road. Might i need to change all of the spheres?

As for the service, what is the usual? Oil change, Air Filter Change, oil filter change - where is the fuel filter? Could I do this with the help of a Haynes manual?

My father in law should be able to help me with this also, as he knows his way around cars, I just know Citroens are notoriously awkward! So if I do sound a right dumbass, dont worry, it wont just be me doing all the work!

Many thanks for your help everyone

Dave
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »