Upgrading Xsara disc brakes

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

i_want_one_of_those
My Cars:

Upgrading Xsara disc brakes

Post by i_want_one_of_those »

Hi there Guys & Dolls

Newbie here, hoping that I will not have too many problems that I need to resort to the site, but I must say I am impressed so far. Anyway.....

My partner has an R reg Xsara 1.4i.

It has 14 inch alloy wheels off of a Saxo VTR, with the correct size tyres.

The car has, IIRC 247 mm discs on the front. I have thought about increasing the size to 267 which is the standard size for the rest of the range, excluding the VTS. I think the sizes are correct from memory.

Anyway, I think that it is just a case of swapping over to the larger sized discs, pads, caliper and caliper carrier. And then rebleeding the system. Is it that easy :?:

Also, can I fit the larger size discs and calipers under the Saxo 14inch alloys :?: :?:

As I am here, can I swap the rear drums to disc brakes easily or not.

Your guidance is much appreciated.

Spence 8)
jeremy
My Cars:

Post by jeremy »

Have you got a problem with the existing brakes? Are they fading or something? What are you hoping to achieve?
jeremy
bencowell

Post by bencowell »

I recommend ATE Power Discs, which are grooved. Not too expensive but improve braking performance and are easy to fit.
James.UK
My Cars:

Post by James.UK »

I put the calipers from a volcane, and larger air cooled discs and pads on my ZX. But I think swopping with Berlingo is a better option. you need longer flexables if you do that I think. Jon did it a long while ago. A search may find the topic again.. :)

Swopping the back end is quite a big job I think, I didn't bother.. My ZX brakes are ok now. :)
James. (Nr M67 East of Manchester).
Dark Blue ZX 1.9D Auto 1994 'L' 5 dr (modified) Aura. 98K miles used daily. Ave mpg 40
Wedgewood Blue 75 CTD auto Connoissaur. 2002. 144k. used daily. ave mpg 40 ish.
Paul Mi16