Front Brake Pad Wear

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

tonyb1
My Cars:

Front Brake Pad Wear

Post by tonyb1 »

This week the brake pad wear sensor has started to flicker and is staying on more frequently today [V] Also the braking makes a nice sqealing noise lately. I had new pads/discs 11 months ago, which have now done 20k, a lot of this has been motorway. I'm sure I should be getting a bit more out of them [?] I wonder if it's down to the sensors. Is there any way of checking if they're ok by the 'feel' of the brakes as I'm not technically minded [:I] The car still brakes as well as it did after I had them replaced. I was also wondering how much more I could get out of the brakes once the light is on. Thanks. Tony
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

The pad warning light is at best a vague indication that pads may be down close to the limit. There's only one real way to find out, and that's to have a look. anything less than a couple of mm on any of the 4 pads and it's time to change. It may be that you have a lip on the edge of one of the discs that has worn the edge of a pad away and taken the wear sensor with it. 20k is not a lot of life from a set of pads, but Xantia TDs do tend to be quite hard on front pads. However, if the discs are old and maybe scored than that can significantly reduce pad life. Might be time for a new set of discs as well?
Kowalski
My Cars: Ex 05 C5 2.0 HDI Exclusive 145k
Ex 97 Xantia 1.9TD SX 144k
Ex 94 Xantia Dimension 1.9TD 199k

Post by Kowalski »