xantia suspension diagnosis

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

stevecritchlow
My Cars:

xantia suspension diagnosis

Post by stevecritchlow »

Something with my 1997 2.1TD xantia suspension is not quire right, and I'd like to sort it befoe it becomes too much of a problem, but despite lots of reading I'm not really sure what the source of the problem is.
When parked up, the rear is sinking down further than it used too (looks at bit like a BX), and on start up is taking longer to rise than it used too. This is time dependent, i.e if the car has been parked five minutes theres no real problem and will rise in 5 seconds, but if parked for two hours it'll be well down on the back and will rise is about 15 seconds.
Any deas what might be wrong?
There doesn't appear to be any problem with the front suspension. Once the rear suspension has risen up there doesn't seem to be any problem in running, although as I'm new to citroen I'm not sure how good the ride should be. The LHM is clean and full.When running the car suspension up and down to max and miniumum heightslast weekend in an attempt to bleed any air, i found the car would rise up OK, and then sink down to its bottom travel, but then would not rise up again at all.
Does this info help anyone out there diagnose whats up?
steve
jeremy
My Cars:

Post by jeremy »

Sounds like anti-sink valve to me. Don't think they are considered serviceable. I would suggest that a careful tap with a hammer might do something at least temporarily but there have been some postings on here about them bursting of their own accord so encouragement is not such a good idea.
jeremy
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »