LHM reservoir float level problem

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

steviewonder7
My Cars:

LHM reservoir float level problem

Post by steviewonder7 »

Hi all I'm a newbie to this forum and was wondering if you kind folks
could help with one of a few problems I have with my Xantia.The car is a 1994 1.9TD Xantia with 87k on the clock has full citroen service history.I've had the car 3 months and noticed the LHM reservoir float indicator(orange disk)has always registered as high in the glass housing as it would physically go.Taking off the reservoir cap reveals what i believe to be a reasonable level of fluid.Yesterday I followed the haynes manual and topped up the reservoir,to find that the float doesn't move at all.I put in approx 1 litre of lhm fluid at that time and decided to remove some so that when the suspension is finally at rest there's enough room in the reservoir for any fluid to flow back into.Last night to my horror I found a large puddle of LHM fluid on the ground underneath the reservoir.Any help is greatfully appreciated[:(]
Kowalski
My Cars: Ex 05 C5 2.0 HDI Exclusive 145k
Ex 97 Xantia 1.9TD SX 144k
Ex 94 Xantia Dimension 1.9TD 199k

Post by Kowalski »

If you set your suspension to its highest setting (with the engine running), the float should float and register a level, at all other suspensionn heights it just records too high a level. I've had a float sticking, but I think some of the others on here have had on BXs and suchlike.
JohnD
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: 2010 Citroen C5-X7 tourer
1998 Citroen Saxo 1.5D
2018 Citroen C4-B7
1998 Peugeot 306. 1.9D
2011 Citroen C1

Post by JohnD »

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by steviewonder7</i>
Last night to my horror I found a large puddle of LHM fluid on the ground underneath the reservoir.