oil burning smell

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

docbrown
My Cars:

oil burning smell

Post by docbrown »

I have a problem with my car xantia 19.TD 98, every time I give it a bit of welly between 30-70mph when I come to a standstill I get this horrible smell of oil being burnt/cooked. I've looked under the bonnet and cannot physically see any smoke however I have localised the smell to the back of the engine bay. Does anyone have any suggestions as to why it's doing this?
There are no signs of smoke coming from the exhaust which make me think it cannot be the turbo but I'm no expert, in addition performance is still the same.
Any help is appreciated.
Cheers
James.UK
My Cars:

Post by James.UK »

Sounds like you have an oil leak when under pressure and its getting onto something very hot, prob your exhaust manifold or downpipe.. You need to check your oil levels and find the leak..
docbrown
My Cars:

Post by docbrown »

do you think it could be the rocker cover gasket?
It this an expensive job as it looks like it would involve stripping inlet pipes etc?
oilyspanner
My Cars:

Post by oilyspanner »

The rocker cover gasket is about a fiver, theres no too much dismantling to get at it, make sure you tighten all of the air trunking clips securely when refitting them or they will pop off, I changed mine recently but the car still smells of hot oil after a thrashing.
Stewart
docbrown
My Cars:

Post by docbrown »

I've had the rocker cover gasket changed and I still get the horrible oily smell after a thrashing, It's fine under around 2000 revs but over that it does seem to be cooking oil.
Could the turbo be going? I cannot physically see any smoke at all just the smell.
Any suggestions?
docbrown
My Cars:

Post by docbrown »

I've had the rocker cover gasket changed and I still get the horrible oily smell after a thrashing, It's fine under around 2000 revs but over that it does seem to be cooking oil.