rear sphere confusion

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

gecko

rear sphere confusion

Post by gecko »

Hi everyone - I am now an expert in xantia clutch clip and have successfully replaced front spheres thanks to this forum and I even made lightish work of the number 1 glowplug.
It seems to be time to change rear spheres - the level adjuster's working fine - ie when I stand in the back the car comes up but the normal rear height seems a bit low and when I set the car to high positon with the lever the fronnt goes up but not the back(until I stand on it) - so I am assuming rear spheres - of which there are 3 - my only problem is which ones do I need - I have xantia 1.9td estate N reg 1995 without hydroactiv so do I need 2 spheres N45366 and 1 sphere-gen N45384 ?? I don't know if I have anti-sink - the car didn't seem to sink much when I had it nearly a year ago (although it would now and again) but seems to have sunk more and more as time's gone on.
My exhaust tailpipe has fallen off somewhere as well (probably driving off before the car's up to height) - my mechanic has told me to get a back-box, pardon my ignorance but is this the 'silencer-rear' in the gsf shop.
I have obtained instructions for the fitting of the rear spheres from this forum so once I know which to order I can get the job sorted.
Many thanks in anticipation
Shaun
Kowalski
My Cars: Ex 05 C5 2.0 HDI Exclusive 145k
Ex 97 Xantia 1.9TD SX 144k
Ex 94 Xantia Dimension 1.9TD 199k

Post by Kowalski »

Thats not a rear sphere problem, its a problem with the height corrector being a bit slow and sticky. Giving it a good spray with the old WD40 (or equivilent) and wiggling the levers backwards and forwards a lot will probably help it. After its had its bath in WD40 you'll need some thicker oil to go on it since the WD40 will tend to evaporate. My height correctors are lubed with a mixture of Silicon spray oil and chain saw oil.
tonespeed1999