Hard Rear

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mark8

Hard Rear

Post by Mark8 »

Hi
Newbie here,who has just purchased a 1998 xantia 1.9td.
I'm here to pick the brains of you wise people,my xantia's rear suspension is solid in all height positions,so i asked my mechanic to change the rear suspension sphere's,which he did but unfortunately it is no better......he thinks it could be the anti-sink sphere that is causing the problem.
My question is if this could be a possible cause....i take it the anti-sink is just a one way valve of some sort,apart from being solid at the rear it does everything it's supposed to....ie.rises,lowers,settles at normal and stays up if left.
Regards
Mark
DoubleChevron
My Cars:

Post by DoubleChevron »

You Xantia should NOT be hard with new rear sphere's under it. By hard I mean, as hard as the car is with it on 'high'. If it still rides reasonably but isn't as good as you know it should be (ie: as hard as the car would be if in hard mode) then yes your center sphere is the problem.
The center sphere is what gets cut out of the circuit when the car is in hard mode. If it's flat that is the equivilant of your car being permanantly in 'hard'. When I replaced the rear H/A sphere on my car the difference in ride quality was immediate and dramatic. I can't say the reason for this is only the H/A sphere as I also had the rear suspension sphere's regassed at the same time.
good luck
Shane L.
alan s
RIP 2010
My Cars:

Post by alan s »

Sounds like mine was but possibly not as bad.
http://www.andyspares.com/discussionfor ... IC_ID=9740
Alan S
windy
My Cars:

Post by windy »

Since the question has come up, should the rear of a non-HydraActive Xantia be as soft as the front? When given the bounce test by leaning on the wings, the front of mine is much softer/bouncier than the rear. On my past BXs and GS, I seem to remember front and rear being equally bouncy.
dnsey

Post by dnsey »