Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Sloppysod
Donor 2024
Posts: 1043
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 238

Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by Sloppysod »

I have a fully chipped & working Diagbox interface, as I now have a C5x, is it worth keeping, is it compatible and will I be able to get the correct software for my Laptop?
Thanks in advance
Stu 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

"Some cause happiness wherever they go, others whenever they go"Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38207
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5934

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes Stu. But you'll just need to get yourself an updated, activated software version of DB V9.** that deals with all the later vehicles.

Have a chat with Jim at Easy Diags who should be able to sort out the version you need.

Don't forget there's a discount for members if needed:

Easydiagnostics Equipment Discount for FCF Members
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Armidillo
(Donor 2022)
Posts: 412
Joined: 28 Apr 2020, 02:18
x 237

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by Armidillo »

I'll buy your full chip interface if you don't want it - hopefully postage to Oz won't be too outrageous!
User avatar
Sloppysod
Donor 2024
Posts: 1043
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 238

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by Sloppysod »

Armidillo wrote: 11 Jun 2024, 06:42 I'll buy your full chip interface if you don't want it - hopefully postage to Oz won't be too outrageous!

Sorry, but Marcs reply was what I hoped, therefore I'll be keeping it.
Stu 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

"Some cause happiness wherever they go, others whenever they go"Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)
User avatar
Sloppysod
Donor 2024
Posts: 1043
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 238

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by Sloppysod »

Hi Marc, the link took me to your piece on recommended oils?
Stu 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

"Some cause happiness wherever they go, others whenever they go"Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38207
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5934

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Sorry Stu - too much multi-tasking going on as usual - must of posted a link to another post I was working on. I've corrected the link now! :roll:
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
crustynowdow
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2024, 09:31

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by crustynowdow »

Has anyone tried downloading diagbox V9 on a windows 11 laptop?
Everything I've read seems to suggest it doesn't but can be done on windows 10?
I'm hoping to get the hardware but need to decide if I need another laptop for the software
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9191
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 869

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by xantia_v6 »

When faced with that, I swapped another SSD into a laptop made a clean windows 10 install, then added the latest Diagbox from the PSA site. When finished with it I swapped back the original win 11 drive. Till next time....
crustynowdow
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2024, 09:31

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by crustynowdow »

Might be easier if I pick up a cheap 2nd hand one then, at least I'll have a dedicated device for the diagnostics. Thanks for the advice!
Armidillo
(Donor 2022)
Posts: 412
Joined: 28 Apr 2020, 02:18
x 237

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by Armidillo »

I presume even the latest versions of Diagbox need 32 bit Windows? So if you only have 64 bit Windows, you need to run a 32 bit copy in a Windows emulator.
cit-rotti
Donor 2024
Posts: 190
Joined: 07 May 2020, 09:19
x 48

Re: Diagbox interface, Is it worth keeping

Post by cit-rotti »

Note:
1. all 9.xxx offline software versions work perfectly on a 64-bit Windows system because they contain the 32-bit system.
2. from 9.24 PSA has also converted the old LEXIA/PLANET area from 16-bit to 32-bit.
3. from software 9.125 onwards, Windows 10 or 11 PRO 64-bit should preferably be used. However, there are software providers who explicitly prescribe 64 bit.
4. there are offers for VM installations or for native installations. For VM installations, the appropriate VM version must be used - these are also available for versions other than Windows, e.g. for Mac.

Free 9.xxx software with good installation instructions is available:
https://www.psa-diag.fr/forum/index.php
and
https://guiapsa.foroactivo.com/
register + log in - regular users may also donate.

Greetings Wolfgang