P15A4 00 ?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

gibman
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jan 2024, 12:40

P15A4 00 ?

Post by gibman »

Got myself a 2015 Citroen GP 1.6 bluehdi
VIN: VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

diagbox warns me about the following:

P15A4 00 Control of the engine oil pressure regulation
Cause Local
Status Permanent
Characterisation of the fault Open circuit

List of associated variables
Total distance covered 181254 km
Date 21546727 s
Crankshaft engine speed 0 Rpm
Position of the accelerator pedal 0 %
Vehicle speed 0 km/h
Engine coolant temperature 10 °C
Engine management ECU supply voltage 12.44 V
Engine torque 0 N.m
Status of the 5 V supply number 2: No Fault
Oil pressure 1.06 bar
Oil pressure reference value 2.8 bar
Opening cyclic ratio of the engine oil pressure regulation control: 0 %
Estimated rate of dilution of the engine oil: 1 %
Estimated carbon content of the engine oil: 0 %
-------------------------------------------------

My local mechanic told me something about that engine possible not even being equipped with that specific sensor thus the open circuit error.
If this is the case I was told I could just ignore it.

Can anyone shed some light on this ? How do I ensure this is indeed a false flag error or a real one ?

Also the car drives, idles and sounds just perfect.

regards
gibman
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37333
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5722

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I would not recommend ignoring it at all!

This concerns the Detection of an electrical fault on the control line of the engine oil pressure regulation: Short circuit to earth.

It can result in the forcing of the control to place the oil pump at its maximum capacity and may result in a low oil pressure warning lamp.

This issue can cause stalling or starting issues.

Possible suspect areas:

Oil pressure regulation solenoid valve
Engine management ECU
Fuse
Main supply (Relay ; Fuses)
Power supply (Relay ; Fuses)
Engine compartment connector board - fuse box (including the engine fuse box)
Electrical harness
Connectors
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 10872
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 996

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by RichardW »

No regulation solenoid on this engine; this code has come up before, and seems to be a phantom code - there is a TSB possibly about updating the software in the ECU to get rid of it. What I don't understand is why the fault suddenly appears at some unspecified time if there is a config fault which must have been there all the time.... maybe there is another fault that triggers it, but then once it is up it can't be deleted. A tuner may be able to re-flash the ECU with a program that removes the error.
Richard W
gibman
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jan 2024, 12:40

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by gibman »

I guess this is good news :)

Using diagbox I was unable to clear this fault. I am not sure if this unerased error will cause the yellow engine warning lamp in the cockpit to persist ?

I will try and consult with a chiptuner ?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37333
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5722

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I just had a check and Richard is right about there being no control valve on this model. I can't see any TSB related to this fault code, but there is a TSB for when fault P250A is present and that involves reconfiguring settings int he BSI to change the configuration of the 'Origin of the Oil Level Information' to No Acquisition. I didn't mention it earlier as this was a different fault code provided.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
gibman
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jan 2024, 12:40

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by gibman »

My bsi config already has this setup:

Origin of the Oil Level Information' to No Acquisition.

So it must be something else?
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 10872
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 996

Re: P15A4 00 ?

Post by RichardW »

https://mhhauto.com/Thread-TSB-Access refers to a TSB, you may have to bite the bullet and get your local dealer to update the software!
Richard W