That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

When my wife returned home the morning she said 'the radio isn't working' . When I checked not only was the radio not working but the satnav screen was blank. There is a little button labelled 'SOS' to the bottom left of the radio and the light by it was permanently on,. Is this another case of operator error or do I have a fault?

I haven't checked any fuses yet but just wondered if there was any obvious reason for this.

Thanks

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3385

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Maybe not human error this time Peter. If the SOS light is on permanently and if fault code FD87 is present in Diagbox, then it's a replacement of the ITU (Independent Telematic Unit) (after tests to confirm).

The ITU is separate from the RT4 Head Unit, but is connected to it in various ways. It is situated directly above the multifunction display (hidden by the fascia), so it's not hard to get to. It is a rectangular module that provides autonomous independent emergency services calling in the event of the airbags being triggered and geo-location positioning to the emergency services.
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks Marc, I will investigate in due course.

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3385

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Bear in mind if replacing, it will need certain parameters coding to the unit Peter.
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Will everything else work with the unit disconnected?

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3385

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I'm not sure you can just disconnect it Peter as IIRC these units can be wired into the system in various ways - i.e the front speakers, the microphone in the ceiling, the CAN connection to the head unit - so if disconnecting it, you may prevent other parts working - but I can't be sure. I had a different services module on mine that was heavily integrated into the vehicle, but never had an issue with it. I'm wondering if it could be something else given that the RT4 unit has gone dead (as I think you said in your earlier post). If there is an issue with the Head unit itself, then it may be causing the associated problem with the telematics unit - given that it is integrated. I wouldn't of expected the RT4 do be disabled by the telematics unit - it should still operate, play the radio, navigate etc. It may be a case of chicken ang egg Peter....
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks Marc, the story of my life! I will have a play when I get 5 minutes. Just another thing, the reversing lights on these cars are as good as useless is there anything I can do to improve them, they appear to be LEDs.

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3385

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by GiveMeABreak »

HI, they reversing lights are not actually LEDs peter, the lens is made to give that impression. The bulb is actually an H21W. A word of caution though. I did upgrade mine to an LED for the same reason using, however I kept getting people telling me it was flashing when reversing. This was even with not so cheap LED upgrades that were supposed to have load resistors built in. Later, I also found that the same problem was filling thge BSI log up with reversing light circuit errors!

So if you are considering an LED upgrade, make sure you get some decent ones with load resistors and get Mrs Peter to periodically check they don't flash when engaging.

Here's a link to pictures in a previous thread Peter:

viewtopic.php?p=595126#p595126
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks for that Marc, I'm glad I'm not the only one who can't see where they are going backwards.

Peter
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Hi Marc

I have the radio out but can't get it apart, not that I could likely do anything if I did. It does have a 9v lithium battery, I checked it and its fine. Tried to refit radio and it wont go right in, there is such a huge bundle of cables behind it and I can't get them out of the way, the cold weather doesn't help.

If I get a replacement which appears to be a 96647951zd what exactly has to be done to programme it in, can Colin in Poole do it, he has reset the DPF fluid light for me on both of them.

How on earth do I get the radio back in. :? :( :oops:

Thanks

Peter
admiral51
Donor 2021
Posts: 2452
Joined: 24 May 2007, 10:11
x 314

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by admiral51 »

Hi Peter.
I think the radio will go back in once the various plugs are refitted and you may have to just trust your head on how hard you push to get it to lock into place.
Happy to pop down and see you this time Peter and code any replacement head unit to your car ( Vin number )
The parameters will be set in the head unit ECU ( sorry Marc if you need to correct me please do :) ) so hopefully with it in situ Diagbox will be able to read them even if the head unit doesn't power up.

The parameters are only things like parking sensors/sat nav etc, just things that need to be correct for the ECU to be happy.

Colin
User avatar
osx
Donor 2022
Posts: 711
Joined: 08 Jun 2013, 20:09
x 7

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by osx »

Will it load a CD?
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks Colin and for all your help in the past.

I have all the plugs in but there are so many cables they wont stay out of the way after you have moved them, I can only get the left hand side in to within and inch or more of the housing, it looks like a telephone exchange in there. On a warmer day when I feel better perhaps I will but once you have the radio partway in you cant get to the cables to push them out of the way.

I'm waiting for a radio to turn up at a reasonable price, they want silly money on Ebay and they are not selling them. I have seen one or two in the past for around £100, most are asking £200 or more. With all the C5's being scrapped there must be loads of them out there.

Anyway I will let you know if and when I get one and if you fancy the trip you will be welcome but I am quite prepared to come over.

Never tried a CD in it since I had it. :-D It seemed to be completely dead except for a green light that was flashing on and off above where it says SOS.

Peter
admiral51
Donor 2021
Posts: 2452
Joined: 24 May 2007, 10:11
x 314

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by admiral51 »

Peter its about time i had an amble down to the best part of Dorset so more than happy to come and see you and your Good Lady.
I will bring the Diagbox just incase, just let me know and we can sort something out :)

Colin
Peter.N.
Donor 2022
Posts: 10963
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 611

Re: That pesky C5 X7 radio again!

Post by Peter.N. »

Marc - if you are still out there.

I have been checking the inputs to the radio and I can't find a 12v switched supply, only a permanent one. There are about 50 or more wires connected to the radio and about 7 plugs, I assume the thicker ones will be the power supply. I have found one that's earth and one permanent 12v which isn't connected but looks as though its been cut.

You don't happen to have the pinout circuit and colours do you? I don't want to spend a fortune on another radio and then find that's not the problem.

Thanks

Peter