lexia

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

508c5
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Oct 2020, 11:37

lexia

Post by 508c5 »

hello, did anyone get Lexia running on a WIN10 computer?

a seller I converted with claims it will run "as is" on a WIN10 computer

thanks in advance..

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21240
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2116

Re: lexia

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Diagbox itself can work on Windows 10 (which is what will launch if working on your C5 X7 or 508), but you won't get the embedded Lexia and PP2000 applications to work as these are written in 16 bit code, which is unsupported natively in Windows 10 64 Bit.

Be aware that no two installations are the same - and success will depend on your specific PC / Laptop hardware, its BIOS settings and other factors. There can be problems with getting this to work on GPT partitions too.

For the widest compatibility, I suggest an older laptop for diagnostic use only, installed with a copy of Windows 7 32 bit.

508c5
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Oct 2020, 11:37

Re: lexia

Post by 508c5 »

thanks Marc,

is there another recommended (modern) solution? amateur level not professional (obviously)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21240
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2116

Re: lexia

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It really is trial and error on these as of course they are all clones and not officially supported by PSA, as they do not provide these to the public.

I’ve had no issue on an old X200 Lenovo running Win 7 32 bit. Sometimes less is more. It’s also not a good idea to use the laptop for anything else other than diagnostics (because installation is really messy with files created everywhere).

Buy a cheap laptop off eBay (ex corporate disposals typically) for anything under £100 with a Win 7 32 Bit licence (or preinstallled) and you should be fine.

508c5
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Oct 2020, 11:37

Re: lexia

Post by 508c5 »

thx Marc

I am currently using this (LAUNCH CRP123i ), question is if the "fuss" about Lexia is worth the effort...https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001090 ... 4c4dHzSCPs

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21240
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2116

Re: lexia

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So the reasons many of us use a 'Clone' VCI with Diagbox (inc. Lexia & PP2000) include:
  • It is the closest you will get to a dealer level diagnostic tool.
  • It can Read all the constructor-specific fault codes that are used - not just the OBD II standard codes. This is important when reading ECUs of bespoke PSA equipment like Head Units, Safety Equipment and other vehicle Options and engine and ABS / ESP systems that can have specific features and options that not all aftermarket readers can access.
  • Contains guided procedures for undertaking specific operations (examples include Secondary Brake Bleeding, Full Automated Hydraulic Circuit Depressurisation, Electric Handbrake Calibration / Maintenance, Injector Coding, DPF Additive Resetting, Auto Gearbox Oil Counter resets, etc, etc.)
  • The ability to telecode (configure) parameters to existing equipment and when replacing certain equipment that needs coding.
  • The ability to see live data and perform actuator tests on the vehicle for the various systems.
  • Covers all PSA vehicle Families
  • Updatable

508c5
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Oct 2020, 11:37

Re: lexia

Post by 508c5 »

thx a lot

cit-rotti
Donor 2020
Posts: 9
Joined: 07 May 2020, 09:19

Re: lexia

Post by cit-rotti »

Hello
As Marc has already written, the diagnostic part for the old LEXIA / PLANET only works on a 16-bit system. This 16-bit system is only available on Windows XP and WIN7 32-bit.
From WIN 7 64 bit / WIN 10 32 bit AND WIN 10 64 bit there is no longer 16 bit.
The Diagbox MrRorry version 9.68, however, also works without any problems on these Windows variants, because MrRorry has virtualized the 16-bit versions.
Greetings Wolfgang

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21240
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2116

Re: lexia

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The other option, (although not preferred) and assuming you have capable hardware and sufficient resources on the laptop is to create a Virtual Machine on a 64 bit OS like Windows 10, then installing a 32 bit OS on the VM and run DB from there - but I don't recommend it because of the added layer of complication during install that this can cause and with the additional port configuration often required.