Speedo NOT working...ZERO

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Stickyfinger »

OK....after the "change" over to an MPH one, its not working at all. I have checked the connections etc, put the KMPH one back...that works

No Speedo, no miles click over....zip all, dead as a Dodo

Stumped.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 42193
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1252

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by CitroJim »

That's worrying Alasdair as it was definitely working just before the car it came from was broken...

I've got another one from a TCT Activa if that will help...

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Stickyfinger »

Hi Jim

The "old" one is however working....not sure whats going on....cannot think yours is busted.
Is there any easy way to test it ? eg give it some juice somewhere ?

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7474
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 421

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by xantia_v6 »

You should be able to connect to 12V and a speed sensor to test it. You can spin the sensor with an electric drill.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Stickyfinger »

and todays PRICK OF THE WEEK AWARD goes to...........wait for it wait for it


Mr A K Johnston....yehhhhhh

This is Awarded for being a PURE 100% PLONKER by not attaching the inner cable to the main board !..........FECK
Last edited by Stickyfinger on 10 Sep 2015, 18:12, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 42193
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1252

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by CitroJim »

:rofl2: :rofl2:

Fantastic news Alasdair 8-)

User avatar
chinkostu
Posts: 1187
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 09:41
x 29

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by chinkostu »

ooh wheres that nob of the week picture gone that you sent me :rofl2:

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Stickyfinger »

This is printed and on my garage wall, seemed the correct thing to do.

Image

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 10748
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1066

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Well, at least you are man enough to admit your error AND suggest the punishment!

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 42193
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1252

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by CitroJim »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Well, at least you are man enough to admit your error AND suggest the punishment!
And make us all laugh with some great images, even if they are a bit close to the mark!!!!

User avatar
Zelandeth
Donor 2016
Posts: 3651
Joined: 17 Nov 2014, 00:36
x 358

Re: Speedo NOT working...ZERO

Post by Zelandeth »

Look on the plus side...last time I did something like that it was changing the BIOS battery on a Toshiba T3100SX luggable...

A task which pretty much involved dismantling the machine to its component parts, in a very specific order and involving several million screws.

Did I not forget to plug the blasted thing into the motherboard before rebuilding the machine? If it wasn't such a heavy lump I suspect it might have gone airborne at that point!

...think it was about 2 in the morning when I finished the second rebuild and had a machine which no longer thought it was 1980 every time you booted it.