XM/Xantia 3-litre de-gassing tank

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

markysimon
My Cars: Citroen XM S2 3-litre hatchback

XM/Xantia 3-litre de-gassing tank

Post by markysimon »

Hi,
As a forum newbie I'm hoping someone here can help me. The de-gassing tank (part of the cooling system) that sits up to the right and behind the V6 engine on my S2
0006087_1307gf_300.jpeg
XM has sprung a leak and I'm having serious problems :( finding a replacement. The part number is 1307HJ and I gather it's also fitted to V6 Xantias – a pic is enclosed. Does anyone know where I might buy a NOS or good (i.e. pressure tested) s/hand item from a scrapper, anywhere in Europe? (BTW, I'm going to Paris in early Feb so could collect if relevant).

Any ideas gratefully received.

Cheers – Mark
elma
My Cars: Undisclosed

Re: XM/Xantia 3-litre de-gassing tank

Post by elma »

Just google coolant swirl pot, they come in alloy for between £40 and £150. I plan on upgrading the one on my Xantia and the header tank in the future but have not got around to measuring up yet so cannot offer you a link to one that will fit. My cars actually 300 miles away and we won't be reunited until the end of February so it's not been on my mind recently.

The plastic Citroen ones are quite hard to find and have a bit of a reputation for leaking so in my opinion it's more cost effective to spend a bit more on one that will last.
Stickyfinger
(Donor 2016)
My Cars: Xantia V6 ACTIVA 3ltr 24v Manual p1
Xm 2.1TD Ph2 Exclusive
AX, little Daffodil
SAXO White Mk1. Sally

Post by Stickyfinger »

Agree, you will be the luckiest man alive if you find one. I tried all over UK and the EU and finally robbed one off a donor car that had one fitted shortly before I got it for parts. I regard the find as very lucky.

There is a reason for it (micro bubbles) and there is a specific design internally.
Alasdair
Activa, the Moose Rider