BSI Swap Issues

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

addo
Sara Watson's Stalker
Posts: 7098
Joined: 19 Aug 2008, 12:38
x 4

Post by addo »

Cloggz: Picsorban.
wheeler
Posts: 5087
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 285

Post by wheeler »

Citroenmad wrote:I would suggest it is the battery which is causing the faults with your car. Electrics can start to misbehave if the battery is getting past it and the early economy mode suggests this.
im not saying that the battery wont be causing this fault but the triggering of economy mode has absolutely nothing to do with battery condition or voltage. its done by the time certain things are switched on for.
User avatar
Clogzz
Posts: 2088
Joined: 15 May 2005, 18:04
x 26

Post by Clogzz »

Picsorban
:twisted:

Image
Atma
Posts: 15
Joined: 11 Mar 2011, 08:28

Econ mode after new bsi

Post by Atma »

Just seen the post about having a new BSI and then goes into ECON mode immediatly...Had the same thing happen, car would not start and an assortment of problems, bought a New BSI, installed, took to the dealer for the software installation. They said they did not need details from the old BSI, just as well as it was gone....
So now always comes up with econ mode straight away, BUT it is not in econ mode as it drives without a problem, except no radio, lights do not flash when remote opens and shuts doors, interior lights do not work and poss something else, but all will work if the ignition is on, and it runs ok. It has a new battery,(the correct one). Took back to the dealer twice and had it reinstalled, still no luck. Also it shows in French that the fuel door is open, strange as I cannot see a sensor there and the fuel flap is on the opposite side.

So just happy to see another fault of a similar nature out there, as the dealer said they had never seen this before...
As for putting the old BSI back, I would if it were me but mine was nackered, confirmed by BBS and they kept it, saving me the cost of confirming it 'had it'. Should be no harm except it may now be programmed different on the keys and immobiliser as that I think is changed with the installlation of a new BSI...Installing a BSI is not difficult, all the plugs fit into their own space and it is hard to mix them up. Just a little fidgety.

Now There is another problem, abs fault showing and after checking vacuum lines now showing pollution fault as well, and the thing was using too much fuel about 28mpg and yes I drive economically...This extra things happened after checking the fuel filter and vac lines, maybe I upset something..........
I do not have a Lexia so no codes.....I need to find a good samaritan in Hampshire (UK) or ...?.........
This car does nothing for good relations with the French, otherwise it is a pleasant car or could be or maybe? Peugeot are ok, this is my first Citroen and maybe my last.........
Any ideas......Oh this is a 2.2 hdi c5 02 reg with 84k
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Hello guys. I have small problem with my c5 2008y. X7 estate exclusive.
I change the ECU fuse box under bonnet BSI under glow box and imobilizer. All programed and working great.
But this set was same year of manufactory and engine size,just from saloon.
So now not working rear wiper and boot open only with key. Any advice?
Many thanks guys.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25068
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2766

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Your BSI needs telecoding to ensure the factory fitted options you have on the vehicle are configured. Saloon models did not have electronic tailgates. There may be other issues too that you need checking. You will need Diagbox or a professional capable diagnostic tool or dealer to do this.
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Thanks for replay. Lexia see wiper and can tur on also see stalk witch is also working. Just can't connect them. Only lexia can see and do seperate
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Or there is only one way.
Put back old BSI and recoding key?
Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25068
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2766

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I'm sorry, but I'm having difficulty understanding what you have written.

Yes, the BSI, Engine ECU and Fob Transponder must match.
You may have taken a matched set of the above items from another vehicle and installed them, but your BSI must be configured for the vehicle into which it is going. This means the Engine type, Gearbox Type, Dashboard Options, Telematics, Factory Options, LDWS, Parking Assistance etc. etc. etc., Without this you will have a vehicle that is non-functioning.
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Thank you for your time to explaining that.
Also have question about electric child safety. Maybe you know where could be a problem,when press buttom on door panel. light come for second and can hear lock on one door. No any warnings on dashboard. And after couple min it is unlock. Nobody can tell me where I need to look
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25068
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2766

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

All these issues will be related to getting the BSI properly configured, as the type of central locking (simple or dead locking) is another example of features that need coding.

You will get lots of issues until you get it completely configured. A dealer can do this for you from their servers as you probably won’t know what all the component codes or correct options are. There are too many to list here.
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

But this problem start on my old BSI
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25068
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2766

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so that's new information which would of been helpful to know beforehand.

In that case all I can suggest is you get a proper diagnostic done with Diagbox, make a list of the fault codes, read and clear them , then re-run the diagnostic again and then provide all the fault codes. Otherwise there is little troubleshooting we can do without this basic information.
degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Hello. Again. Need some help.
Try programming old bsi which is my estate. I just plugged in and all futures working. Only I can't reprogram key. Have pin for my car vin code. But bouth bsis have this pin allready. I using diagbox v9.68. Here I find just key programming not learning. Can any one help with this. Thank you
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25068
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2766

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Key programming is what you need if adding a new fob. There is no ‘key learning’. There is only programming and synchronisation, but you don’t need Diagbox for synchronisation, when you have disconnected the battery for example.