Radio code

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: RichardW

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Radio code

Post by vortexco » 30 Oct 2018, 16:27

Just obtained a Peugeot 407 Sport SW 2.2 HDI.

It has the non GPS radio unit. I think it's called the RT4.

Is there a place that's cheaper than peugeot to get the code?also if I pull out the radio to get the serial number will the wiring come with it so it doesn't disconnect, or is the wiring fixed meaning as soon as I pull out the radio I'll be disconnected?

Reason being I have a bigger battery that's less than a year old. I have no idea how long the battery already fitted had been in the car for, and with winter coming...

Thank you.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Oct 2018, 16:50

Ok, so to be sure, pop your VIN up and I'll tell you exactly what you have.
None of these units on these more modern cars have 'radio codes' as such, they are all VIN-coded to the vehicle. The RT4 is a fully equipped telematics unit with integrated GPS unit and telephone, so I think you must be referring to the RD4 Head Unit.

So I'm not sure why you need to remove it - as I said it is coded to the vehicle and therefore removing the battery will have no effect. It will not lose the code if this is what you are getting at. You may need to adjust the date or time, but that's it really.

On a more general note and for future reference if you ever need to remove the Head Unit:

The Head unit will use a combination of a quad lock connector that needs to have the arm moved over to release it and the other aerial connectors that need a small flathead screwdriver to carefully unclip them - but be warned ALWAYS take of the large quadlock connector before the others and fit it back on last as it contains the power. Disconnecting / connecting the multifunction display connector with the quadlock power still connected can brick the display.

User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 3425
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 13:46
x 421

Re: Radio code

Post by white exec » 30 Oct 2018, 16:53

I've used these on-line folk several times:
https://www.radio-code.co.uk/
Not expensive, and code was displayed instantly.
Follow the on-screen instructions, and make sure you have the correct s/no. with the right number of digits.

EDIT: Ignore this; does not apply to these units. C.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Oct 2018, 17:04

No radio codes Chris on these. They are VIN coded.

User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 3425
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 13:46
x 421

Re: Radio code

Post by white exec » 30 Oct 2018, 17:24

OK, thanks Marc.

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 30 Oct 2018, 18:24

Thank you very much for your replies. I only wanted to remove the radio so I could read the serial number off it. But now you've said that, I don't need to. It's only because I'm fitting a much better battery to the car.

I do plan to remove the head unit at some point as I wish to install my single din Sony bluetooth, and dab radio into the car, but I'm still researching the right connector to use.

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 30 Oct 2018, 18:28

P. S here's my vin VF3**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Oct 2018, 19:49

Ok you do have the RD4 - but now another bit of advice. You need to be aware that the RD4 is more than just a radio - it also handles some of the vehicle options and configuration - which you will lose if you replace it. Just a warning.

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 30 Oct 2018, 20:07

Thank you for the advice, I've had a look around and have found a couple of wiring harnesses with module boxes that allow you access to the menu functions, through combinations of the steering wheel controls.

I intended to fit my Sony stereo, replace all door speakers, and I have a 12 inch sub into goto into boot. The other reason I'm fitting my bigger battery

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Oct 2018, 23:27

Ok, good luck, just so long as you know. :wink:

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 04 Nov 2018, 21:44

Thank you,

I have contacted a company Connects2 to find out more about there items. I'll post back my results, as I'm Probably not the only one who wants to do this, even if its for another Peugeot and not a 407.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 04 Nov 2018, 23:20

Just as long as you know that you probably still won’t be able to access certain computer configuration options. There’s a difference between using the steering wheel controls to access standard menu items of the radio, but that usually will not apply to vehicle option configuration.

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 05 Nov 2018, 07:52

From what I'm reading, I'll have full access to the menu button, which is where all the options are. This includes aircon, time and date, screen colour, light settings, etc.

It seems the only thing I'll lose are the three buttons on the left of the radio unit, which are the display buttons, that decide what the screen is too display.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11571
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 986

Re: Radio code

Post by GiveMeABreak » 05 Nov 2018, 09:41

Ok, so I'm not sure you're understanding me. The Connects 2 leads generally hook up the car's steering wheel control interface to the third party stereo unit you are intending to replace it with (a Sony in your case). They provide the ability to use a third party Stereo and retain the remote steering wheel functions. What a set of leads cannot do is change the capabilities of the Sony unit you are intending to replace the RD4 with - not possible.

What they cannot do is change what the Sony Head Unit's capabilities are. It cannot make the Sony unit interface with the vehicles ECU to change vehicle parameters if the Sony unit itself cannot do this. Remember the RD4 unit is not just the radio it has a it's own computer that talks to the BSI in the car and the multifunction display ECU.

So without the RD4, you will very likely loose a lot of the display information that comes through on the multifunction screen. You will probably retain the temp and time / date settings, but will not be able to change any vehicle parameters. What about your Climate Control, Dark, Trip Computer, Menu buttons? You'll lose those too I suspect.

vortexco
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 Oct 2018, 21:59

Re: Radio code

Post by vortexco » 15 Nov 2018, 17:37

Ok i have been in contact with connects2. Provided I don't have the JBL amplified system then they can offer support.

The buttons on the right of the RD4 unit, Climate control, Dark, Trip computer, etc i will lose. However the Connects2 module box will still allow access to the menu button and direction buttons, via the steering wheel controls. You basically hold down two buttons and the module box changes the steering controls so i can access the vehicles menu.

Personally I'm not fused about the Climate control, Dark etc buttons. And it comes with another interface that allows me to keep the reversing sensors.

I'll link all of the products im going to buy in a minute. Maybe someone else is interested in doing this.

Thank you for all the help