Citroen C4 - Oil leak

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

c4tobe

Citroen C4 - Oil leak

Post by c4tobe »

Hello everyone, This is my first time in this forum.

I recently bought a C4 Hatch, 2004, 1.4 Petrol, 113000 Km. It has oil leak in the left side of engine, from near the head gasket. I searched the forum and understood that it is a common problem in C4 petrol engines, especially the 1.4.

I took it to a local mechanic to get a price quote, but he said he can only tell me after he starts the job, and opens the engine/belt cover etc.

Since it is much cheaper to order pieces online, can you share with me your opinion on what the problem is and what parts I need to order? (I am also going to have the timing belt, water pump and accessories belt also changed at the same time). Then I will take parts for the mechanic to do the job.

I checked the radiator coolant reservoir, no indication of oil there. No bubble appearing there while the engine is running. Also I could not see anything wrong with the exhaust (no blue smoke, etc).

But the it leaks a lot, the other day I checked the oil dipstick, and it was TOTALLY dry! (though the panel was saying "oil ok"!?). I had changed oil 5 months ago! Anyway, I put about 1 liter oil, and the oil dipstick now shows oil level at medium.
Can it be that the leak is only external leak?
Which parts you recommend me to change?

Thanks a lot in advance
VertVega
My Cars:

Re: Citroen C4 - Oil leak

Post by VertVega »

c4tobe wrote: It has oil leak in the left side of engine, from near the head gasket.
There is only one left side and one right side of a car but just to make sure is this "left side" when you are looking at the engine in front of the car or the actual left side :)
2004 and only 113000 km that kind of oil leak sounds unusual to me.

Some pics may be? Since it helps a lot to see the problem. There are many people here who can help.