C5 2.2hdi turbo over boost?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

phil1969

C5 2.2hdi turbo over boost?

Post by phil1969 »

hi, i'm new to citroens, just bought a C5 2.2hdi exclusive. i'll start with the things done so far, suspension leak fixed parts replaced. DPF removed and ecu remap as anti polution fault on dash. but still has the anti polution fault on dash and engine and service light on by the clocks plus in limp mode can't go over 2500rpm, has been checked and the fault code is turbo over boost. where do i start EGR valve off and cleaned, check pipe work to turbo? read alot of posts on here about this but thought i'd put my own on here too.

hope you can help.

Phil
woodywoodpecker

Re: C5 2.2hdi turbo over boost?

Post by woodywoodpecker »

Phil,
Check the swirl valve is working its located on the right hand side of the cylinder head as your looking under the bonnet, you are looking for a long thin rod with plastic ball cup on the end and it connects to the intake butterflies. Its a common fault with the 2.2hdi when you start the car the rod should move fully backwards towards the windscreen and when you rev the car it should come forwards. A few i have seen have come off the ball it clips on to, if its connected and not moving you have a vac leak. Check this first and let us know.
phil1969

Post by phil1969 »

will do, cheers.
phil1969

Post by phil1969 »

right... checked the rod and its connected but it stays where it is when the car is started and moves towards the windscreen when revved. doesn't move hardly when lightly revved. hope this helps. forgot to mention that the lights on the dash and the anti polution fault go off at times but will come back on when accelerated to 3000 or over it'll kick back on.
waynedance

Post by waynedance »

Hi I have same engine and I believe my swirl thingy works the same goes towards windscreen when over approx 2000 rpm.
Volvo S80 D5.........