First Car

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

OwenP
My Cars:

First Car

Post by OwenP »

I am looking to buy my first car. I would like to get a 405 Diesel Estate, preferably for not too much money as I am a student. What mileage should I be looking at as a cutoff point and also what tends to be the main cause of these cars dying?
Cheers
PowerLee
My Cars: Current - Slightly modified 2016 Pug 308 Puretech 130 Allure
Past:
2003 - 206 GLX TU3JP & 206 SE ET3JP4
1995 - 405 Executive XU10J2
1996 - 406 GLX XU10J4R
1994 - 405 GTX XU10J2

Post by PowerLee »

Do you really need an estate?? These cost more to buy then the saloons, & the saloon boot is BIG enough ( But the seats dont fold down )
Try if you can to get an August 1994 onwards car, Drivers airbag, side impact bars, better alarm ( If its still working )
Like most cars, if its been looked after they can rack up very high millages.
Check for any rust, there SHOULDNT be any, All 405s where galvinised.
The electrics can play up, Things not working, Things working when they shouldnt, Lights coming on the dashboard, Nothing a day, some basic tools & a can of wd40 cant sort out.
Check there are no odd sounds from the suspension, worn bushes.
Electric sunroofs do get stuck through lack of use ( Unless its a 1995 car where the 306s sunroof assy was fitted )
Clock bulbs look a sod to change on series 2 cars but they are easy to do when you throw the Haynes book in the bin [;)]
Head gaskets can go if the cooling system isnt looked after.
The speedo needle will jump a little, Live with it or fit a new cable ( If you dont get mad easy [;)] Sod to change!!! )
The tailgate trim has a habit of falling of estates too, A tube of gripfill or similar sticks it back ok.
Go for a series 2, Black dash & darkened rear lights, The middle of K reg was the change over time, series 1 dashboards creak too much in the sun, It will drive you bonkers!
anything else just ask.
OwenP