Infotainment system

This is the Forum for all your DS Automobiles Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Yeah i downloaded the file to my laptop and unzipped it straight to the usb (fat32).
Started the car and let everything load. Inserted the usb and got the message about not finding media files. Didnt touch anything and sat there for about 5 mins and nothing loaded
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Let me have a screenshot of the content of the USB drive (use the 'full editor & Preview' button then attachments, browse to image and then place it in the post), so I can see what structure you have on the USB.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

How do i do this
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

On Your PC
1) Open the USB on your PC in explorer, then press the Print SCRN key next to the scroll lock button to take a screen shot.
2) Save the image somewhere you can remember

Then on the Forum:
1) Just use the FULL EDITOR & PREVIEW button to create or edit your post.
2) Then, at the bottom press the ATTACHMENTS button.
3) Next, press the ADD FILES button - this will allow you to browse and select pictures from your phone or PC.
4) When the picture has uploaded, you will see it listed, so all you have to do is put your cursor at the spot in your post where you want the image to be placed (you may have to put a few extra line spaces in if you want it under the current text), then press the PLACE button next to the uploaded image.
5) Hit the SUBMIT button when done.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Capture.PNG
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

hopefully Ive done it right
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so you've extracted the whole thing including a folder with the name of the compressed firmware file into the route of the USB. You extract the contents of the compressed file ONLY, otherwise the Head Unit cannot locate the update script file as it is now buried in another folder and will not look beyond the route for this.

If you are using a utility like 7Zip and have your freshly formatted USB ready in the PC, as drive 'E:' then you only extract the contents to the E: drive and do not allow it to copy the folder name. So when you open the E: drive you only want to see the SWL folder and the 'Updateinfo.xml' file in the route and nothing else. All the remainder of the folders and files are within the SWL folder.
tallpaul.png
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Ok thanks mate ill try that tomorrow
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No problem, hopefully that will sort it for you.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Ok tried it this morning. It can see the file but i get the message version not compatible with hardware.
Looks like a visit to the dealers?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so it is important that the vehicle is an area of good reception for the WiFi to call back home to authorise the firmware update. This message is a result of that. If you go to the dealer they'll charge you diagnostic time to do it - £130 an hour.

In this case, here is the licence file you need for your specific vehicle.

Leave all the existing firmware files on the USB that you have, and just follow the instructions under Licence files section in the installation notes under the link below.

TallPaul73 Licence File

Instructions for Updating NAC or RCC Firmware, Maps & Licences
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Thanks marc ill give this a try
TallPaul73
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Aug 2022, 17:35
x 6

Re: Infotainment system

Post by TallPaul73 »

Unfortunately same thing
NotAnInterestingName
(Donor 2022)
Posts: 216
Joined: 11 May 2022, 12:58
x 45

Re: Infotainment system

Post by NotAnInterestingName »

Do the firmware only first. Don't put both on the USB stick. Then blank it and do the map update.

After much thrashing about, I only got mine to update by using a different USB stick. It's a bit fussy.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37780
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5820

Re: Infotainment system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I think he is only doing the firmware first.

A naff USB can be the issue - if you have another do try that.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc