Missing text on RT6

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by measaura »

Hi Marc,

After cloning the old SD card, I go through the files in the copied folder. Saw the logs in the SPY/UPG/UPG_logs.txt stating ConfigSystemVersionError : RNEG2009_EUR_2_70 != RNEG2010_EUR_2_70.

Seems like the version in this RT6 is RNEG2009 and not RNEG2010?

After digging through the upgrade scripts in the ISO, I found out that the update did not proceed due to the System Version is RNEG2009_EUR_2_70, and this can only work with RNEG2009 only. From the Config.ini, I found out that the ISO of the 2.77 firmware is for system version RNEG2010_2_70

If you have that version (CD8653), I would like to have that to reflash the fresh card.


Dinas
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 29046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3614

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I have sent you a PM.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 29046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3614

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Looking at it, your electrical architecture for the 3008 is CAN 2004 not CAN 2010, so you should be able to apply 2.77 well enough assuming there are no other problems. From there if successful I would leave it there and then take a mirascripts backup of the user files once you have checked operation.

If you want to chance it, version 2.80 is the latest version you can go I think on this architecture without intervention afterwards.
measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by measaura »

Let me try the 2.80. The 2.77 definitely are not compatible with RNEG2009

- Dinas -
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 29046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3614

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It is compatible as it is an official version. However, some vehicles have a different electrical architecture and therefore may be limited to an older version of firmware for the CAN 2004 vehicles. So the V2.77 update that was released at that time stated that the V2.77 update was only for CAN 2004 vehicles already on firmware versions: V2.60, V2.70, V2.71 or V2.75.

CAN 2004 vehicles (based on build date) are:
Peugeot: 308, 308CC, 807, RCZ, 5008, 3008, Expert, Partner.
Citroen: DS3, C8, C5, C4 Picasso, C3, C3 Picasso, Berlingo, Jumpy.

CAN 2010 vehicles are:
Peugeot 508, Citroen C4, DS4, DS5

Please note that the above info was at the time of the V2.77 release which was available around July 2013!
measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by measaura »

Thanks for the detailed info. Let me try the 2.77 and/or 2.80 and see if it works.

- Dinas -
measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by measaura »

Just want to thanks Marc and update on my progress.

I have successfully cloned the old faulty SD card into a fresh 32Gb SD card, copy some missing files into the new SD, installed in the unit, and it boots like new!

Just a precaution notice, as per advised and warned by Marc, everytime you connect the SD card to a Windows PC, Windows will write a folder to your SD card. So, before ejecting the card, make sure to perform the “delete System Volume Files folder” as described in another thread here.

What I did was;
1. Remove old card from unit
2. Mount old card on Windows
3. Mount new card on Windows
4. Launch EaseUs Partition
5. Clone all partitions as is, except for MAPPE partition, let EaseUs auto set the space
6. (This is optional. I did this because the old card has a lot of bad sectors. Do this only if you totally understand what you are doing!) Mount the firmware ISO and copy the missing files into the new card.
7. Install the new card into the unit and install into the car
The working unit
The working unit
Thank you again to Marc and others who have contributed a lot in recovering my faulty unit.

Next is looking for the latest FAR_EAST map to update my outdated 2014 map. My current house is not even in the map 😅
FAR EAST map 2014
FAR EAST map 2014
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 29046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3614

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Well done on fixing this yourself. You were quite lucky that the original SD Card was not more damaged as otherwise you may have had issues reading the corrupt data to know what files to restore. Pleased you have it back up and working.

When you have checked everything is working properly, that's the time to make a backup of the user data using Mirascripts. :wink:
measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: Missing text on RT6

Post by measaura »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
24 May 2022, 12:57
Well done on fixing this yourself. You were quite lucky that the original SD Card was not more damaged as otherwise you may have had issues reading the corrupt data to know what files to restore. Pleased you have it back up and working.

When you have checked everything is working properly, that's the time to make a backup of the user data using Mirascripts. :wink:
Thanks to you a lot Marc in assisting me personally as well as for the tutorials everywhere in FCF. The SD have more than 70% bad sectors and I almost give up on doing the partition clone. Luckily I did a backup on the user_data and total disk backup (although not all files are successfully copied) using Mirascript as soon as I got my hands on the script.

With my knowledge in programming, I read through almost all of the installation script in the ISO and manage to understand what files are being copied to where, and that's how I manually copy the missing files from the ISO into the SD card.

As of now, my unit is still running on the old firmware 2.75 but the theme looks slightly different, maybe because I copied the whole Graphics folder from 2.80. Apart from that, everything else worked (maybe) as intended. As for the functionality available for my car settings, I assume it's the correct one, because it looks like the menu are there and I haven't restored the backed-up user_data files back into the unit yet. Only that I'm not sure if the DRL on/off menu is missing, or maybe it's not even there in the first place. If you're free Marc, maybe I can get a list of available options for my car so that I can compare what are missing from the menu. :wink:

Next, I'll make another backup from this newly installed SD, and then restore the old user_data file back into the unit. Then maybe updating to 2.80 after that. I'm still looking for the updated FAR_EAST maps to update my unit. Not sure if the new SMEG maps are compatible to be used in this RT6, because if it's compatible, I can copy from my friend's car and load it into my unit 8-)

Anyway, looks like this endeavour will have to wait till I'm done with the current work project, and have more time to spare.

- Dinas -