C3 Picasso Antenna access

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That would be my thought - in these you may find the aerial base unit contains all the gubbins. If water ingress has got in, you will see water damage / rust and green scaling on everything.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5441
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 803

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Paul-R »

I'm still not sure if the amp is fed through the co-ax or separately.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Referring to the connecting assembly is shown in the previous diagram, there is only one coax output shown from the RD4 head unit. The picture on the last page may be a generic unit for other options like a telematics unit for the other aerials, but the wiring diagram for this base model shows only on aerial coax output 1V 84ANT, which is the coax output that goes to the connection unit into which the roof aerial also goes to.
C3 Pic Aerial C.PNG
C3 Pic Aerial D.PNG
So if there is something else, it is not shown on the wiring diagrams. There is no hands free kit, no telematics, no connecting box and basic display.
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi.
I got a bit of time today to check it.
The OEM radio isn't sending 12v up to the antenna so I thought it doesn't send 12v up the coax.
There was no continuity between the antenna and the plug so I was suspicious that it does have an amplifier.
So I made a simple filter to supply 12v to the antenna up the coax and only RF to the radio and all of a sudden I had good strong medium wave and vastly improved FM. So the OEM radio is faulty. Will have a look and see if there is a fuse of fusible resistor that is Open Circuit.
Ive added the circuit of my little mod. The aftermarket radio is now installed and all is well.
Thanks guys for all the help.
IMG_20210815_172447_resized_20210815_052825995.jpg
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5441
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 803

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Paul-R »

Anything to get out of having to take the headlining down!

Good result and nice bit of circuitry you came up with.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26046
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Well at least the diagrams were right in this case... thanks for the update.