BSI Swap Issues

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

Could you tell me bit more?
As there allreadi showing 2 key programmed. So with new bsi starting engine and locking as normal.
But when I put in my old bsi come off message anti thief and not working key.

degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by degut94980 »

And when put comfidient code it say bsi allready coded. And when try key programming all the time it failed

degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI, Transponder, Coding Issues

Post by degut94980 »

Hello. Again. Need some help.
Try programming old bsi which is my estate. I just plugged in and all futures working. Only I can't reprogram key. Have pin for my car vin code. But my old and new one have this pin allready. I using diagbox v9.68. Here I find just key programming not learning. Can any one help with this.
With new bsi which is allready in car key working. Because I change ecu bsi and immo from same donor car. But donor car was saloon, I have estate.
When I connect in my old bsi then key don't do anythink and came of message on dash anti thief.
When try programme key with old bsi everytime failed. Thank you

wheeler
Posts: 4894
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 247

Re: C5 BSI, Transponder, Coding Issues

Post by wheeler »

Maybe im missing something here but if you have re fitted your original BSI, Injection ECU and using the original key that worked with those units you shouldn’t need to re code anything, it should just work?

degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: C5 BSI, Transponder, Coding Issues

Post by degut94980 »

Sorry my mistake. From donor car I taked ecu, fuse box under bonnet,bsi under glove box. Immobilizer and 2 keys. So all these pieces I put into my estate vehicle

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24107
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2582

Re: C5 BSI swap

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You can't keep swapping these about.

You need one matched set: 1 BSI, 1 Engine ECU and the key fobs. These should be a paired set. You can't go back and put a different BSI in as that would not work.
Why are you changing them backwards and forwards? Unless I'm not understanding you.

degut94980
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 22:27

Re: BSI Swap Issues

Post by degut94980 »

Because. I needed only ecu change but I undersrand too late this. And all these parts is from saloon. My vehicle is estate so talgate not fully working. This is the reason

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24107
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2582

Re: BSI Swap Issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I think I explained that your problem is likely to be correct configuration of the donor BSI to the exact engine , gearbox type, ESP system and other options fitted to your vehicle. There are a significant number of items that would probably need configuring either from a donor or a virginised BSI. The BSI pairing to the engine ECU is just one important, but small part - getting all the correct ECUs recognised and configured is another thing altogether as you have to know exactly what you have on your vehicle for everything to work.

Normally, if you were getting a new BSI from a dealer for example, they would fit it and configure it from your VIN from their servers. That would programme all the factory-fitted equipment correctly, then they would manually check afterwards to ensure everything is recognised and working.

As you aren't going to the dealer presumably, you are going to have to do this manually and that may be where your problems lie.