BSI problems I think?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Greg2309
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 13:43

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Greg2309 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 13:07
You can also try looking in the customer options section of Lexia - sometimes the key programming is in there.
I think I looked under all the sections when it wouldn't come up under BSI, but I will certainly have another look tomorrow. Thanks

Greg2309
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 13:43

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Greg2309 »

wheeler wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 15:15
If I remember right you do a global test, go into BSI then the Learning menu & key programming is in there.
Even if there was a BSI fault it should not stop the menu being there.
Yes mate, that is what I did. Run Diagbox > Citroen > Model > Then I get option of Lexia or Scantool. Lexia > Global Test
I then get a few options BSI, Fault Log, Airbag, Switch Module, Radio etc. I select BSI
I then get more options but nothing to programme the keys.'
if I If I run a fault test on BSI I get the message 'Intermittent Fault. Transponder Identifier not Received'.
I was wondering that there is a fault with the BSI. If Lexia can't communicate with transponder it won't give me an option to programme. And I can't perform a BSI reset as the keyfob RF is knackered.

wheeler
Posts: 4660
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 215

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by wheeler »

What makes you think you can't do a BSI reset without a working fob? You don't need a working fob for this.
Your old key starts the car so the transponder & reciever are both working but even if they weren't you would still have the option to program keys. It is in a sub menu of the BSI so may not be on the front page when you are in BSI

Greg2309
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 13:43

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Greg2309 »

wheeler wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 20:40
What makes you think you can't do a BSI reset without a working fob? You don't need a working fob for this.
Your old key starts the car so the transponder & reciever are both working but even if they weren't you would still have the option to program keys. It is in a sub menu of the BSI so may not be on the front page when you are in BSI
I'll check all sub sections over the weekend and revert.
RE: BSI Reset. The only way I know is with a working keyfob.

Ensure all doors are closed and remove key from the ignition.
Wait for 3 minutes, disconnect the vehicle battery and wait 15 seconds.
Reconnect the vehicle battery, wait a further 10 seconds (do not open doors.).
Switch on the side lights through the driver's window.
Switch on the ignition and check system's functionality.
Hold lock button on key down for 10 seconds.
Remove key open & close door test central locking system.

Can you advise of a BSI reset procedure where the RF function is not required?

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5183
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 708

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Paul-R »

The last two steps aren't actually part of the BSI reset procedure, they're the remote lock/unlock pairing procedure. So just stop at line 5 for the BSI reset.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22652
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Greg2309 wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 21:33
Can you advise of a BSI reset procedure where the RF function is not required?
We have published a more comprehensive one here that we use:

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure

Greg2309
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 13:43

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Greg2309 »

Paul-R wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 22:43
The last two steps aren't actually part of the BSI reset procedure, they're the remote lock/unlock pairing procedure. So just stop at line 5 for the BSI reset.
Thanks Paul, good to know, will try

Greg2309
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 13:43

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Greg2309 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
16 Jan 2021, 00:07
Greg2309 wrote:
15 Jan 2021, 21:33
Can you advise of a BSI reset procedure where the RF function is not required?
We have published a more comprehensive one here that we use:

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure
Thanks Marc, will have agood read and give it a go over the weekend

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5183
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 708

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Paul-R »

The problem with Marc's procedure is that it is the absolute complete method covering many different configurations and also includes the remote lock/unlock pairing procedure.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5183
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 708

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Paul-R »

Greg2309 wrote:
16 Jan 2021, 00:45
Thanks Paul, good to know, will try
There's every chance that your previous efforts have actually run through the BSI reset procedure correctly. The fact that the remote lock/unlock buttons aren't working does not necessarily mean that the reset hasn't worked.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22652
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I've had no complaints to date about my guide and saves me time replicating 3 different ones to suit the relevant systems that a member may or may not have. I hope it is easy enough to follow the relevant sections as applicable. :roll:

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5183
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 708

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by Paul-R »

Not a criticism Marc, just an explanation of why it's so long. But mainly the fact that it's not absolutely necessary to pair the lock/unlock buttons as part of the process.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22652
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No problem. I may revisit it again soon and try to further simplify it.

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19296
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1340

Re: BSI problems I think?

Post by myglaren »

Paul-R wrote:
16 Jan 2021, 12:47
Not a criticism Marc, just an explanation of why it's so long. But mainly the fact that it's not absolutely necessary to pair the lock/unlock buttons as part of the process.
I never had to do mine, just carried on as before.