C5 X7 Nav dash panel

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

Not got the unit yet but just had a thought.
Do the sat nav equipped cars have a different connector/cable to the screen vs cars with the basic RD 4 display?
Is that the LDVS cable referred to in the sat nav retro fit sticky?
Such as this?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Citroen-Peug ... SwT99eiHgD

Ta

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That cable is only for PSA systems. It won't work for Android units and screens if that is what you are getting at. If you are going to fit an aftermarket unit, you will need bespoke cables and connectors that are compatible with the vehicles CAN interface and your aftermarket Head Unit and Screen if it has one.

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
27 Apr 2020, 03:49
That cable is only for PSA systems. It won't work for Android units and screens if that is what you are getting at. If you are going to fit an aftermarket unit, you will need bespoke cables and connectors that are compatible with the vehicles CAN interface and your aftermarket Head Unit and Screen if it has one.
Thats good news for me.
I was concerned they would design it to fit sat nav equipped vehicles.
The original chinese listing showed compatibility with 'sat nav equipped vehicles'.
It wasnt clear if that was simply for the actual screen fitment or if they meant some of the OEM wiring.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, that LDVS cable is one of the connections between the Head unit and the Multi function screen on Sat Nav Equipped vehicles. The cables are different depending on the system fitted.

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: Swap RD45 to Android?

Post by elcustardo »

Soooo. I can confirm the unit I got was plug & play.
Steering controls work,temperature displays on the screen which matches the original temp display (left it plugged in to the side to compare)
However I seem to have a faulty touchscreen so cant go into depth with it

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

Right. So good and bad.
Head unit fitted fine with some jiggering the mass of cables behind it.
Booted up. Steering controls work,speakers,GPS etc. Displays temperature too.
Bad news is I dont seem to have any touchscreen function.
Ive checked the ribbon cables and seem fully home and undamaged. No apparent damage around the screen.
I cant think the screen being fitted to a correct frame would make a difference.
Last edited by elcustardo on 27 Apr 2020, 15:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Are you sure it is a capacitive Touch-enabled screen? Is it one that came with your Android kit or just one you bought from a different C5?

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
27 Apr 2020, 15:40
Are you sure it is a capacitive Touch-enabled screen? Is it one that came with your Android kit or just one you bought from a different C5?
Yeah, Its the one as part of the kit.
Theres no real menu buttons on the head unit so it needs a touch screen to be near useable.
Whilst I can play music etc I cant access menu,select functions without a touchscreen. Think it might just be DOA as I cant see anything obvious

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Sounds like it was DOA unless there is a connection issue. See what the seller says.

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

Ha! Well I take it back. Left the car for an hour or so to let the unit fully power down.
Switched it on and got the android boot up. Seems it was just having a moment.
Touch screen now working. I'm aiming to collect the dash panel tomorrow so I can hopefully fit it and have a fiddle.
GPS seem to be working,bluetooth seems to work well but radio reception seems very poor.
I have 2 aerial connections. Is either of the grey/white cable better than the other?
notice there is a mapping option for steering wheel buttons so likely if bought new these units require mapping. Seller didn't factory reset before sending as I still see residual Google account info.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5176
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 705

Re: Swap RD45 to Android?

Post by Paul-R »

I'd love to see some photographs of the installation to see how tidy it is. And when the touchscreen is replaced some more please.

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: Swap RD45 to Android?

Post by elcustardo »

Good news is the touch screen is working.
I should be get the fascia tomorrow allowing me to at least make it neat.I have a reversing camera arriving.
Pretty much plug and play though excluding my touch screen glitch
Last edited by xantia_v6 on 27 Apr 2020, 20:38, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: post moved from other topic, deleted a redundant sentence

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

Right so had a play around today as I have a few place to go/work.

Does seem fully integrated.
Displaying temp from the temp sensor ,steering controls work,door open warning comes on the screen and surprisigly its already hooked into the reverse circuit so brings up the reverese feed and lowers the audio volumes.

So I got the sat nav dash panel today. Sadly as I feared the 'mount' for the screen is not really doing anything.

I cant see any way the mount is meant to go as it is with modification. Mounting it to the dash panel would be the easiest but I would prefer to mount to the OEM mounting holes with some sort of magyver mount

The mount has a cut out on the rear top right but seating it to the dash puts the screen too far over and moving it to the left leaves the corner hanging.

Image Image Image

Image

elcustardo
Donor 2020
Posts: 71
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 11:13
x 8

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by elcustardo »

Heres a weird one. It seems exempt from the economy mode?
I can get in the car and power it up despite the dash telling me its in economy mode!
It does have a shutdown timer setting in the options though that is default at 30 minutes

As for the fit. I hacked up an old wood clipboard to make a test support. for a first guesstimate its not far off.
Trying to think what I could use thats easy enough to work with to make a final mount. Aluminum sheet?
Doesnt need to be massivly strong. I have used the 4 OEM mounting points. Really just heat and dissipation that lends me to metal

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 X7 Nav dash panel

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That will be because the BSI control wire is not connected or has been bypassed, so the BSI cannot shut the unit down. So be aware of that - or a flat battery may be looming one day. I would expect it to shut off with the vehicle ignition though..... which would be fine so long as you haven't switched it on running on battery only.