Xantia cabin heating

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Hi mate, yep I still have a working Lexia.
peter306
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 Nov 2013, 13:44
x 7

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by peter306 »

goody, is it ok if i pop down sometime, i'm free Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday Afternoon, Wednesday Afternoon.
Whichever suits you. :) :)
Pete
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Saturday is fine,,,,Mid/Late morning ?
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

PM'ed you.
peter306
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 Nov 2013, 13:44
x 7

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by peter306 »

Had a nice little drive down to Frome to see Alasdair, coffee and a chat and plugged his Lexia in, wouldn't talk to my Air Conditioning computer #-o
was happy to talk to the rest
Attachments
20200125_120027.jpg
20200125_120246.jpg
User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8438
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 423

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Mandrake »

peter306 wrote:
25 Jan 2020, 15:49
Had a nice little drive down to Frome to see Alasdair, coffee and a chat and plugged his Lexia in, wouldn't talk to my Air Conditioning computer #-o
was happy to talk to the rest
Image
Image
Your pictures show many ECU's are showing no communication ("dialogue no") which leads me to believe the engine was not running at the time of the screen shot. Many ECU's will not communicate unless the engine is running, just turning on the key is not enough.

The climate control ECU is particularly finicky to get a connection to, if you only turn the key on but don't start the engine, or the engine has been running for some time you will NOT get communications with the climate control ECU. The climate control ECU only responds after the engine is running, and sometimes after it has been running for a while it won't respond.

The only reliable way to get a connection is to turn the car off, start the engine and then immediately run either the global diagnostics, or go directly to the heating ECU without go via the global test - I usually use the latter as it makes it easier to retry the connection. Even on my Xantia I sometimes have to retry the connection to the climate ECU multiple times and/or restart the engine, but once connected it will stay connected.

Try this a few times and you should get a connection.
peter306
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 Nov 2013, 13:44
x 7

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by peter306 »

hello Mandrake,
the car is a 1.8 16 valve manual. Apart from the Air Conditioning and extra heating the others that say no aren't on this car.
The test was done with ignition only and then with the engine running. A few times.
First run was global then by function.
Next was by function, ignition on
next was by function, engine running.
We tried this 3 or 4 times.
As at the start of each test the Lexia says turn off and restart (Key out) the engine was not running for more than a couple of minutes.

Peter
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Confirmed, Engine running for most attempts.

This is Jim's LEXIA and Laptop so we know it is a "proper one" and that it has worked on many Xantia's for years.
User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8438
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 423

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Mandrake »

peter306 wrote:
26 Jan 2020, 12:01
hello Mandrake,
the car is a 1.8 16 valve manual. Apart from the Air Conditioning and extra heating the others that say no aren't on this car.
If the global test is trying to test a whole bunch of ECU's that don't exist in the car it means you've entered the wrong VIN number, in which case it's no wonder it won't communicate.

It's critical to enter the correct VIN number and/or RPO number when asked as the Lexia software has a database of VIN number ranges which allow it to know which ECU's are fitted to the car and how to communicate with them based on the VIN number. Without the correct VIN number you will not get communication with some of the ECU's.

Double check that you have not made an error entering the VIN number of the car. If it is definitely correct is it possible the car has had an engine swap in the past to a different engine than original ? Either that or there is something wrong with the Lexia software.

Entering the correct VIN number should always cause the global test to list and interogate exactly the ECU's that are fitted to the car - no more no less. Certainly every time I've used a Lexia on a Xantia it always comes up with the correct list of ECU's for the model, however if I deliberately enter the wrong VIN I get the wrong list of ECU's come up and failed communication with these incorrect ECU's.
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Would it not still test the ones that ARE there ?

I did not check the vin myself or enter it so cannot comment on that.
User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8438
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 423

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Mandrake »

Stickyfinger wrote:
26 Jan 2020, 17:04
Would it not still test the ones that ARE there ?

I did not check the vin myself or enter it so cannot comment on that.
Just because it says "air conditionig" in the list doesn't mean its the right one. We know there has been more than one revision of the climate control system used in Xantia's - if it's looking for the wrong one it won't work.

Also the Xantia isn't OBD-II - the S2 Xantia has an OBD-II socket but it uses all the pins (except power) in a non standard fashion with different ECU's connected to different pins rather than one common bus, and some models have more ECU's than pins so a couple of ECU's will share a pin. If this pin wiring ever changed between model years or engine type/spec level (not sure if it did, other than S1 vs S2) then it could be searching for the right ECU on the wrong data pin.

If the wrong VIN number is entered and the wrong ECU compliment is listed in global test its unlikely to work properly, and if I saw a list of ECU's shown in the global test that don't exist on the car I would immediately suspect the VIN was entered incorrectly or not at all. Global test should always list the exact ECU's fitted to the car, unless the car has been modified. (For example an engine swap to a different engine model)

I'm not saying a VIN number issue is definitely causing no comms with the ECU, however I'm very suspicious of it, also as I mentioned that particular ECU is very finicky at the best of times - it's the most difficult one to communicate with on my Xantia and sometimes needs several attempts. This was the case on both my S2 and S1 Xantia's.
peter306
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 Nov 2013, 13:44
x 7

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by peter306 »

Thanks Alasdair, i'm quite sure I entered the correct vin reading of the reg document, however unless the Lexia keeps a record I couldn't say with 100% certainty.
To the best of my knowledge it is the original engine, Trying to find the number on the block but not a lot of joy yet. The forum admin staff have my VIN so should be able to check once i've found it, bit wet at the moment. :)
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Will plug it in tomorrow and check
peter306
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 Nov 2013, 13:44
x 7

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by peter306 »

Assuming the lexia wasn't a problem and it is my climate ecu that is at fault, the one in the car is 661613N/D, 9635623080
Does anyone have a wiring diagram and pin out for this module.
Peter
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia cabin heating

Post by Stickyfinger »

Sorry chaps, not recorded

Welcome to come again if you wish....