How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The system won't start if there is no operating system on the internal SDMicro Card.

I suggest you read the first page of this guide on how to backup your settings using Mirascripts from your old SD Card first, before trying to put a new MicroSD Card in and install the operating system from the firmware.

Then you have done that and want to install a new MicroSD card, the firmware must be extracted to a FAT 32 formatted USB memory stick and inserted into the USB port before starting the vehicle. You must keep the engine running (economy mode can brick the system if interrupted during an update).

All the instructions are in the first post.
OZGUR
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 May 2022, 05:00

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by OZGUR »

My old SD Card has broken, unable to read it because it crashes my Windows 😅 That's why I ask for the operating system clone if you have it
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That won't work. The settings will be specific to your vehicle model and specific fitted options.

If you don't have an operating RT6, then you may want to take the chance on replacing the MicroSD card and inserting the EXTRACTED firmware onto a USB key and let it reinstall the operating system. This will very likely need a dealer visit though if you don't have your original user files. Do not first insert the MicroSD card in a windows or MAC as it will create system files on the card! The firmware will create the partitions automatically.
copacelu
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 May 2022, 17:47

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by copacelu »

Hello!

Following the guide I found on page 1 of this thread, I managed to replace the SD card (16Gb) and install new software (2.86) via a CD I ordered on eBay (doesn't look original but it worked).

Due to the fact that the navigation screen was completely dead, I had to skip the MiraScript step in which you would copy the settings of the car on the USB stick.

Now the radio works (it's in Czech) - which for me is already a major accomplishment as I tried a lot of auto services in the past year trying to fix it and everyone told me it's dead and I need an original / aftermarket replacement.

I read in one of the threads that I could change the language back to EN - via MiraScript (I know you're not providing support for it) but is there any chance I could make some of the other features work as well?
• The nav looks empty
• AUX looks disabled
• Audio plays only front speakers
• Probably other features not working either but I forgot I even have them so it s hard to tell what's not working.

---

Just having the radio running and not hearing that stupid eject/read CD noise is great but why not go all the way and fix the bloody thing!

Thank you in advance.

PS. The previous software version was 2.70E.3 -> now running on 2.86. Not sure it matters at this point.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi

Glad it helped you sort the worst problem out. Of course the vehicle - specific options are likely missing, so you may need to have a look at the Mirascript site to see if there are any RT6-specific files that may help, but I suspect that only the dealer with a PSA server-connected diagnostic diagnostic will restore the missing options.
lipthal
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 May 2022, 16:24

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by lipthal »

Hello all,
First of all thank you very much for this brilliant guide. For me the exchange of the sd card solved to problem.
Unfortanely, the system was not booting before, therefore the script did not work.
After the update everything now is working except the sound. I got a JBL sound package. Does anyone know how I can either activate the JBL sound via diagbox or how I maybe extract the relevant parts from the old sd card?

Thank you very much!
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Unfortunately this is one of the options that will likely need dealer configuring in online connected mode as the RT6 goes into secure mode. Normal Diagbox configuring is rarely successful because of this. It would seem some of your optional extras like the JBL HiFi option is therefore unconfigured, so the system can't output the sound correctly as thinks you are using the default standard internal amplifier.

If you book a visit with your dealer and tell them you need your RT6 reconfiguring to restore vehicle factory options set in the BSI given that you have had to have the internal SD card replaced they will probably just charge you diagnostic time and some time to check manually after the configuration has been restored.
aronbv
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jun 2020, 10:10
x 3

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by aronbv »

Hello,
Did anyone tried to clone the micro SD card from a working RT6 and put it in a defective one? I'm trying to save the hours taken by the installation of firmware and maps.

Thanks.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That defeats the purpose of replacing the MircoSD card!

It is the MicroSD card that fails (NAND memory wears out after so many write cycles) and becomes corrupt - so you would only be copying the corrupt data.....

The MicroSD card contains the operating system files and the the partitions for all the system and user files, the navigation and other data, so that's not a solution.
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5795
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 930

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by Paul-R »

I think the key phrase is "from a working RT6 and put it in a defective one?" so it would hopefully not be corrupted.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Of course - my bad, Paul is correct, but note that I think I mentioned this in one of my many earlier posts on this subject. I can't be 100% certain, but firmware updates may also update some of the internal software on the main board - so that may cause a mismatch of the operating files and updates on the MicroSD card and the Head Unit itself.

Only one way to find out - try it and see.
measaura
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 07:32

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by measaura »

rallerix wrote:
09 Nov 2021, 19:24
Hi folks,

In the meantime I have changed the SD card in the RT6 to a SanDisk Ultra with 16 GByte.
Then I unzipped Marc's 2.77 ISO (thanks again!) To a USB stick and burned it to CD.
To make it short: the installation always breaks off with "error during flasher loading".
But one after anonther:

1. Restart the RT6 with the CD inserted: "CRC Media Checking" for approx. 5 minutes on the display.
2. "Flasher loading" (10 sec.)
3. "InitSoft" (1 sec.)
4. "Disk check" (5 sec, then CD ejection)
5. "error durign flasher loading" ... "Product restart in 5..4..3 ... s".

The next attempts always start at point 2 and end at 5.

Differences in the experimental set-ups:
- Downloaded ISO again
- ISO burned with 2 different burning programs at the slowest speed
- Formatted the USB stick and unpacked the ISO again.

My questions now:

- the SD card is possibly unsuitable (too big or too fast :-D)
- Can I not upgrade from the initial SW version 2.75.C.5 to the 2.77?

Any suggestions?
Hi rallerix,

I know this thread has been quite a while, but I'm just trying my luck here. I'm trying to replace my RT6 SD card as well and also stuck at the same steps, just like what you are facing. My unit is also 2.75 and trying to update to 2.77 which thankfully supplied by Marc.

Have you manage to successfully update your unit? If so, what have you done to complete it?

I just realized from the log that my unit is RNEG2009_EUR_2_70 and giving error upgrading because it doesn't match the 2.77 RNEG2010_EUR_2_70. Maybe that is stopping it to upgrade. Not sure what will happen if I change the Config.ini to match the one in the RT6, will it start to install?

- Dinas -
mohammad_jhd
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Jun 2022, 02:41

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by mohammad_jhd »

image0.jpeg
Hello, good morning, I have a Peugeot RCZ 2014
The sd card seems to be broken, but how can I do the MiraScripts you described? Because I do not have a picture
Thank you for your help
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 18 Jun 2022, 09:18, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Instructive Removed
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28938
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3594

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I can't help you if yours has got to this stage where it is not displaying anything - have you actually tried the first part of the Mirascript instruction yet? Normally when the system has an issue it looks for certain files in the USB key and will execute the script automatically - assuming your display is working fine this should not be a problem.
mohammad_jhd
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Jun 2022, 02:41

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by mohammad_jhd »

Hello good time
I changed the memory, I did the upgrade process, but it got stuck on this page while installing the firmware, and it took about 2 hours, but it was not done.
I tested again, but when I insert the firmware CD, this error appears now

firmware 2.80 tested
Attachments
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg
image0 (1).jpeg
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 03 Jul 2022, 09:18, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed complete Guide Quote - unnecessary.