DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

No good. Followed to the letter but still dead.

Looks like a visit to a Citroen garage for a new head unit then.
Ouch unless someone knows a local motor electrician who works on replacements although I guess the unit is only available from a Citroen dealer anyway.

I called Clarion a couple of weeks ago and they only deal with dealers so they can't help.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, but try for one on the ebay, that has come out of a DS5 as I can tell you they are prohibitively expensive. A repair may be int he region of 500-600 Euros, but a new unit is £1018.78 - but that does include the VAT! Ex fittng of course.

I found a complete kit here with screen aerial and cables - but not much of a new one and you probably don't need the other bits:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CITROEN-DS5- ... SwzgBYzmuu

Or jus tthe Head Unit:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CITROEN-DS5- ... SwhQhYyVTR

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

Thanks for the links. I guess it'll probably have to be one of those as the car is well over 125,000 miles now so not worth paying for a new one. I can fit it in myself but that's about all.
How easy is it to do the coding, or is this only a garage job. I have a nephew with one of those electronic things that plugs into the electronics under the glove box that resets fault codes and things. You'll know what I mean. Could he do a recode with that?

Just sent out a parts request to several UK breakers too.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No, it will need Diagbox to code it. Basically the vehicle’s VIN code will need to be coded into the unit so it will operate, but also, your vehicles options also need to be programmed in, like the type of parking assistance, and whether there is a multiplexed amplifier, CD Changer, and other options.

The dealer will probably charge anything from half an hour to n hour of diagnostic time. They can download the ECU configuration directly from their servers, then they just check the options are configured correctly.

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

Tried all other means to get a unit from the UK. Breakers yards etc but no-one has any.
Also just for interest sake, there's a repair specialist in London fixmyradio.com who does most repairs of this nature but stop short of the RT6 unit. They do up to RT5 would you believe.
Got another contact on Autocraft at Stanley who may have been able to do something but didn't get the chance to call them. The number is 01207 230637

So I had to bite the bullet and go for the 2nd hand unit from Poland. It comes with a 12 month warranty though so that's the only reason I went with it, apart from the cost difference of course. Paid by VISA to be on the safe side.
New unit priced from Citroen is £1018 inc VAT and tried Peugeot who quoted £1056.

I have priced a run on the diagbox to set things up and that's £90 perhaps with VAT too.

Will let you know how things pan out from here.
Thanks so much for the info so far.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, I can help you configure it hopefully based on your car's factory fitted equipment, so should be able to guide you through the correct options - but it's not straightforward, as the ECUs are fitted to Ctroen, DS and Peugeot vehicles, so the instrumentation and data display screens are different and the options have to be configured a certain way for the model and not what might seem obvious. So let me know nearer the time.

Check these repairers out first though:

https://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/ ... it=clarion

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

The Polish companynhave been in touch and I sent them my VIN so that the correct SAW version could be installed.
I guess it will still need a Diag setup though, and for £90 it'll save some hassle but thanks for the offer and you never know, I might still need it.

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

Tracking delivery of the new unit and it seems I might even get it tomorrow.
As an aside, and because I'm what you might call a tightfisted old git an opportunist, I emailed them and asked if they would be willing to take my old unit.
They've replied offering me €50 if the cd isn't working or €100 if it is.
I think that's a very fair offer.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5313
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 756

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Paul-R »

That's a real bonus - well done for asking. Have a house point!

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

Dead chuffed.
Ir arrived today, got it fitted in 15 minutes and is working fully. Had to reset the language from French and delete the previous owners bluetooth phone connections but everything's just great, radio, cd, rear camera et al.
Can't thank you enough guys enough for your help ad I would recommend the Polish company to anyone else.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Sound job. A couple of tips - these units suffer from heat and there is not enough air surrounding the unit to cool them properly, so not saying you need to have frostbite on your chin, but a cooler cabin setting will help on longer journeys.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7773
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 478

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by xantia_v6 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
19 Jul 2019, 17:32
Sound job. A couple of tips - these units suffer from heat and there is not enough air surrounding the unit to cool them properly, so not saying you need to have frostbite on your chin, but a cooler cabin setting will help on longer journeys.

Would it be worthwhile fitting a small 12V computer fan to improve the air circulation?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The issue on the DS5 Mike is that the RT6 is integrated behind the central fascia where I've arrowed. So the cooling really needs to be behind the central console. Not a lot of room to stick anything anywhere on the DS5 though :cry:
DS5 Fascia.PNG
A nice interior design - I do like the cockpit and the roof mounted controls, but awful ride on the first generation - here's hoping they'll migrate to Progressive Hydraulic Cushions on later models.

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

I have had so many near misses with this car that I think they should be given a drastic re-design. The front side view is blocked very significantly with the extra metal work and obscures a lot of the oncoming traffic at junctions.
The ride...... Best described as bracing, as in you need a neck brace after a week of driving it.
I previously had the C5 in both the original shape then the C5 Tourer. Loved them all, especially the C5 tourer. Hydro-pneumatic, all the room in the world for throwing my fishing gear intoi, a very useful cd console with voice command etc. Lovely lovely car. Started with the XM which was also really good at the time too but the DS5 despite the quality look of it is a brick on wheels. I won't be going onto the SUV DS range. Need space in a decent size boot. Don't know why SUV has become so important as you can't even get a decent load of food shopping in the boot.

Anyway, at 73 coming up, this might just be may be my last car but at over 125,000 miles that might be a big ask.
I think I have a spare computer fan somewhere. I'll give that idea a go.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7773
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 478

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by xantia_v6 »

Good luck! Search ebay for "12v silent computer fan" (the silent is important, because they seem quite noisy inside a car). A 40 mm or 60 mm unit may be possible to squeeze in somewhere.