Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 4036
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 399

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Paul-R »

If your X7 hasn't been disabled and merely requires re-pairing then, if you're also a member of Costco, you may be able to get them to do this for you.

When I had new tyres on my X7 they didn't bother keeping track of which went where as they simply reprogrammed everything once they were inflated.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Costco in Finland?

Apparently so...
https://www.yelp.com/search?find_desc=c ... c=Helsinki

Xantippa
Posts: 419
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 15

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Xantippa »

I made that test where you have to drive over 20km/h for 1km, but there was no communication with any of the wheel transmitters.

This is quite interesting that you can set this system up with diagbox so that it seems to work ok, eventhough there´s no sensors on the wheels at all (on my winter set).

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, because you are only configuring the ECU (that is in communication with the aerial receiver unit in the car) and not the wheel transmitters themselves.

Without the wheel transmitters dialling home it won't do anything :-D

Xantippa
Posts: 419
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 15

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Xantippa »

On my previous X7 I got an error with winter wheels (without sensors) after driving 50km and SERVICE light on. After disabling TPMS from delivery to customer menu in diagbox, I could drive without errors in the winter. After changing summer tyres, I enabled TPMS from same menu, and it worked fine (alerted if tyre was deflated).

Now with this X7 system seemed to work OK, with both summer (with sensors) and winter (without sensors) tyres. Just after disabling and enabling system from that same delivery to customer menu, there isn´t connection to wheels anymore. I think I have to go to tyreshop and check wether the sensors are working at all... I was going to repaint my summer wheels anyway, so there´s one reason more to do that if changing batteries to sensors is necessary.

Falka
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2020, 21:43
x 3

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Falka »

Hi all!
Might be a bit old thread, but its on the C4 C5 TPMS topic so :P

Previous owner disabled the TPMS in my 2011 C5 3.0 HDI, 2 seperate tire shops failed to enable the TPMS, so i bought my own diagbox.
The system can be disabled in the BSI configuration by setting the 'Under Inflation Detection ECU' to absent. Re-enabling the function is the reverse, but also requires the 'direct without pressure display' setting to be configured in the 'type of under-inflation detection' in the 'configuration then definition driving information vehicle equipment' sub menu of the BSI.
C5 is missing these menu entries so i guess they are in a different places?
The shop already entered in the new tpsm sensor ID's into the ECU, and they also enabled something in the BSI, because now the car complains about all 4 tires not monitored.
IMG_20200730_192031.jpg
IMG_20200730_191832.jpg

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's a 2 stage process.

The TPMS sensors need pairing to the vehicle, but they also need activating, using an exciter or similar tool.

Falka
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2020, 21:43
x 3

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Falka »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
31 Jul 2020, 14:29
It's a 2 stage process.

The TPMS sensors need pairing to the vehicle, but they also need activating, using an exciter or similar tool.
They told me they did all that, but they "can't" enable TPMS ECU itself in the BSI. Before i go to a third shop, i kinda wanted to see if i can enable it myself.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

1) What version of Diagbox are you currently using
2) Run a Global Test, then confirm whether the TPMS ECU (DSG) is detected in the list.
3) If it is, then select the DSG ECU and confirm.
4) On the next menu there should be a 'Repair' option
5) From the next screen, there should be a Deactivation / Activation option from where you can enable it.
6) I think after that, you have to go into the Accessories Menu in the Main Diagbox screen and also make sure it is there.

lancia58
Posts: 647
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 4

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by lancia58 »

You need the device in the link

https://www.ebay.com/itm/264514037164

I ordered one on May 14th, still hadn't got it. Due to the Covid 19 shipping takes time till it arrives. Once I have it - I'll post if I succeed in activating the TPMS - and the procedure.

Zohar

Falka
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2020, 21:43
x 3

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Falka »

Thanks Marc on helping!
GiveMeABreak wrote:
31 Jul 2020, 14:47
1) What version of Diagbox are you currently using
7.57
GiveMeABreak wrote:
31 Jul 2020, 14:47
5) From the next screen, there should be a Deactivation / Activation option from where you can enable it.
Strangely I dont have those options
I attached a few pictures, thats what i can gather about the DSG from the diagbox. I see that its PROHIBITED, but why :?

Thanks again
Rob
Attachments
IMG_20200802_141823.jpg
IMG_20200802_142312.jpg
IMG_20200802_142321.jpg
IMG_20200802_142927.jpg
IMG_20200802_144005.jpg

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I can’t deal with this right now as I’m restoring my rigs, but will take a look once I’m back in the land of the living - Windows 10, say no more.....

Falka
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2020, 21:43
x 3

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Falka »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
02 Aug 2020, 15:16
I can’t deal with this right now as I’m restoring my rigs, but will take a look once I’m back in the land of the living - Windows 10, say no more.....
Send me a PM, maybe i can help. I'm a wizard of those problems both on Windows and Linux :)

Also the TPMS can definetly wait! Im already very appreciating your help

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20411
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2018

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I’m just rebuilding my VMs after some updates screwed up my Hyper V settings...

Good old MS, bring back MS-DOS 😎

Falka
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2020, 21:43
x 3

Re: Citroen C4 - Tyre Pressure Sensor pairing

Post by Falka »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
02 Aug 2020, 15:22
I’m just rebuilding my VMs after some updates screwed up my Hyper V settings...

Good old MS, bring back MS-DOS 😎
I just read Updates and Hyper V and im out :arrow: